Arrow-right Camera

Eye On Boise

Cerami and Thomson lead elected delegates

Of the 101 state delegates to the Idaho Democratic convention who ran for a chance to go to the Denver national convention, about 80 gave rousing two-minute speeches today to try to win votes. Then, by congressional district and by candidate preference, 12 district delegates were elected. Topping the list were grass-roots Obama organizers Kassie Cerami and T.J. Thomson. The 12 are an extremely diverse group, with only two white males (including Thomson) among them. The Obama delegates voted in from the 1st Congressional District were Cerami, Thomson, Estella Zamora, Richard Hill, and Maj Stormogipson of Coeur d’Alene. From the 2nd Congressional District, winning delegates were Debu Majundar, Jim Fletcher, Steven Mercado (a College of Southern Idaho student), Frank Jones, and Rebecca Suits. The Clinton delegates elected were Ryan Robinson from District 1 and Jeanette Wolfley from District 2, an attorney and Shoshone-Bannock tribal member.

After those elections were done and Richard Stallings was named the final superdelegate, votes were taken on the two “PLEO” delegates – party leader elected officials. The five candidates were Boise Mayor Dave Bieter, House Minority Leader Wendy Jaquet, House Minority Caucus Chairman John Rusche, Coeur d’Alene Tribal Chairman Chief Allan, and state Rep. Nicole LeFavour of Boise, the state Legislature’s only openly gay member. Bieter and LeFavour were the winners. Still to go are elections for four at-large delegates, national committeeman and national committeewoman.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Eye On Boise
Eye On Boise

News, happenings and more from the Idaho Legislature and the state capital.