Arrow-right Camera

Eye On Boise

Fri., Oct. 14, 2011, 1:34 p.m.

Seven new House districts pit incumbents, including speaker, majority leader

Seven of the 35 new legislative districts approved unanimously by Idaho's bipartisan citizen redistricting commission today include more than two current House incumbents, but have just two seats - meaning if they want to remain in office, some of those incumbents would have to battle each other in the primary or general election. That's what makes redistricting such a politically thorny subject. The biggest House contest would come in District 8, which includes five current incumbents, including current House Speaker Lawerence Denney. Also in the new District 8: Reps. Carlos Bilbao, Judy Boyle, Ken Roberts, who is the assistant majority leader, and Steven Thayn.

Here are the other House contests set up by the new district plan:

District 5: Reps. Dick Harwood, R-St. Maries; Shirley Ringo, D-Moscow; and Tom Trail, R-Moscow
District 14: Reps. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle; Marv Hagedorn, R-Meridian; and House Majority Leader Mike Moyle, R-Star
District 16: Reps. Max Black, R-Boise; Grant Burgoyne, D-Boise; and Elfreda Higgins, D-Boise
District 23: Reps. Pete Nielsen, R-Mountain Home; Jim Patrick, R-Twin Falls; and Rich Wills, R-Glenns Ferry
District 24: Reps. Sharon Block, R-Twin Falls; Stephen Hartgen, R-Twin Falls; and Leon Smith, R-Twin Falls
District 30: Reps. Janice McGeachin, R-Idaho Falls; Erik Simpson, R-Idaho Falls; and Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Eye On Boise
Betsy Z. Russell
Betsy Z. Russell joined The Spokesman-Review in 1991. She currently is a reporter in the Boise Bureau covering Idaho state government and politics, and other news from Idaho's state capital.

Follow Betsy online: