Advertise Here

Eye On Boise

History shows bipartisan compromise at Idaho’s redistricting commission…

Much attention has been focused on the fact that 10 years ago, when Idaho's first evenly-split bipartisan redistricting commission settled on a new legislative district plan, L-66, one Republican, former state Rep. Dean Haagenson of Coeur d'Alene, joined with three Democratic commissioners in the 4-2 vote. Less attention has been paid to the other action of the commission on that same date, Aug. 22, 2001, when it also adopted a congressional redistricting plan, C-15. That, too, was a 4-2 vote: There were two Republicans and two Democrats voting in favor, and one Republican and one Democrat voting against. That congressional plan stood up and wasn't challenged in court.

After the Idaho Supreme Court rejected the first legislative plan, L-66, which had a population deviation of 10.69 percent, the commission on Jan. 8, 2002, adopted plan L-91. This time, it was Democratic Commissioner Ray Givens of Coeur d'Alene who joined with the three Republican commissioners in the majority for a 4-2 vote. Plan L-91, however, was overturned by the court for two reasons: Impermissibly dividing counties, which the Idaho Constitution forbids; and too high a population deviation, at 11.79 percent.

Finally, On March 9, 2002, the commission adopted plan L-97, which had a population deviation of 9.71 percent, on a 5-1 vote - three Democrats and two Republicans supported it, with only GOP Co-Chair Kristi Sellers voting no. That plan was challenged in court, but upheld.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Eye On Boise

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

Betsy Z. Russell covers Idaho news from The Spokesman-Review's bureau in Boise.

Named best state-based political blog in Idaho for 2013 by The Fix

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Eye On Boise.

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here