Arrow-right Camera

Eye On Boise

Mon., Sept. 26, 2011, 11:06 a.m.

L-83 splits 12 counties, but not Ada…

Proposed legislative district plan L-83, endorsed unanimously by the six former bipartisan citizen redistricting commissioners, would split 12 counties: Bonner, Kootenai, Latah, Benewah, Canyon, Twin Falls, Minidoka, Power, Bannock, Bingham, Bonneville and Madison. It wouldn't split Ada County, which would have nine districts contained entirely within it, nor would it split the remainder of Idaho's 44 counties. The plan includes four districts that violate the connecting-road rule, which is permitted with five of six votes of Idaho's redistricting commissioners; they are Districts 7, 9, 23 and 30. It also includes numerous divisions of precincts, which also are permissible with five votes.

The overall population deviation of the plan is 9.51 percent, with the smallest district being District 15 in fast-growing West Boise, with 42,698 people, 4.67 percent below the ideal population; and the largest District 30, in the southeastern corner of the state, with 46,955 people, 4.84 percent above the ideal population.

That 9.5 percent deviation falls within the range considered presumptively constitutional - under 10 percent.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Eye On Boise
Betsy Z. Russell
Betsy Z. Russell joined The Spokesman-Review in 1991. She currently is a reporter in the Boise Bureau covering Idaho state government and politics, and other news from Idaho's state capital.

Follow Betsy online: