Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Saturday, February 16, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Snow 32° Snow

Eye On Boise archive for Jan. 1, 2012

FRIDAY, DEC. 7, 2012

The House's new JFAC members include three freshmen

The House Appropriations Committee - the House half of JFAC - has the following members for the 2013 legislative session: Reps. Maxine Bell, R-Jerome, chair; Darrell Bolz, R-Caldwell, vice-chair; George Eskridge, R-Dover; Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls; Marc Gibbs, R-Grace; Steve Miller, R-Fairfield; Thyra Stevenson, R-Lewiston;...

Continue reading this post »

Former House Speaker Lawerence Denney, seated, talks with new House GOP Caucus Chair John Vander Woude, R-Nampa, on Friday. (Betsy Russell)

Denney will be House Resources chairman 

Former House Speaker Lawerence Denney is the new chairman of the House Resources Committee. "I told Scott that I want to do anything that I can to help him be successful, and if a chairmanship was what he wanted, I'd do that," Denney said. New...

Continue reading this post »

THURSDAY, DEC. 6, 2012

Senators look at posted lists of committee assignments for the upcoming legislative session (Betsy Russell)

Lots of new faces on Senate Finance... 

The Senate Finance Committee, the Senate half of the Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee, will have a high number of new members in the coming session. Among them: Sens. Steve Vick, R-Dalton Gardens; Sheryl Nuxoll, R-Cottonwood; Cliff Bayer, R-Boise; Dan Johnson, R-Lewiston; Steven Thayn, R-Emmett; Dan Schmidt,...

Continue reading this post »

Senate names committee chairs, members

Though the House is still working, the Senate has settled on its committee assignments and chairmanships, and will convene at 3 p.m. to formalize that. New committee chairs are Sen. Steve Bair, R-Blackfoot, Agriculture; Sen. John Tippets, R-Montpelier, Commerce; Sen. Lee Heider, R-Twin Falls, Health...

Continue reading this post »

Outgoing Idaho House Speaker Lawerence Denney swears in new Speaker Scott Bedke on Thursday (Betsy Russell)

Denney swears Bedke in as speaker

It fell to outgoing House Speaker Lawerence Denney this morning to call for the motions for nomination for speaker of the House, knowing that it won't be for him. Majority Leader Mike Moyle formally nominated new Speaker Scott Bedke, and Minority Leader John Rusche seconded...

Continue reading this post »

Lawerence Denney presides over the House Thursday morning for a final time (Betsy Russell)

House, Senate convene organizational sessions...

Both the House and Senate have convened their organizational sessions this morning, with outgoing Speaker Lawerence Denney presiding in the House, and Lt. Gov. Brad Little presiding in the Senate. The first business is the reading of the certificates of election of all those lawmakers...

Continue reading this post »

Just a reporter, not a time traveler... 

I understand there was some consternation last night that I was posting some legislative caucus election results before those votes had even occurred. That would indeed have been quite a feat. Alas, I am not a time traveler. Here's the explanation: My newspaper's servers are...

Continue reading this post »


Crane chosen House assistant majority leader

Rep. Brent Crane, R-Nampa, has been elected House Assistant Majority Leader in a three-way contest, defeating Reps. Lynn Luker, R-Boise, and Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls. Still to go is the three-way contest for the House's No. 4 leadership position, majority caucus chair.

Continue reading this post »

Moyle stays as House majority leader

House Majority Leader Mike Moyle, R-Star, has survived a challenge from Rep. Rich Wills, R-Glenns Ferry, to keep his leadership post. This came after House Speaker Lawerence Denney, R-Midvale, was ousted by former Assistant Majority Leader Scott Bedke, R-Oakley, which means Bedke will leapfrog over...

Continue reading this post »

Bedke ousts Denney as House Speaker

Three-term Idaho House Speaker Lawerence Denney, arguably the most powerful member of the Idaho Legislature, lost his leadership post tonight to rival Rep. Scott Bedke, R-Oakley, in a dramatic political upset. The ouster, which happened during closed-door legislative caucus elections, marked the first time in...

Continue reading this post »

Eye On Boise

News, happenings and more from the Idaho Legislature and the state capital.

Blog Archives

Dec. 2012 Nov. 2012 Oct. 2012 Sept. 2012
Aug. 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012
April 2012 March 2012 Feb. 2012 Jan. 2012