Here's a news item from the Associated Press: BOISE, Idaho (AP) — Legislation introduced in the Idaho Senate would fine employers who don't comply with a state law requiring them to report new hires within 20 days. Idaho employers would face a $25 fine for every new hire that is not reported within 20 days, with a maximum of $5,000 in penalties per quarter, under the bill. The Senate Commerce and Human Resources Committee voted to introduce the measure Thursday, though some lawmakers voiced concerns the fine could be seen as a barrier to employer hiring and burden businesses with paperwork. The state Department of Labor says most employers don't comply with the reporting law passed in 1997, and the non-compliance makes it harder for the agency to track things like overpaid unemployment benefits and parents who owe back child support.
Betsy Z. Russell covers Idaho news from The Spokesman-Review's bureau in Boise.
P.O. Box 2160, Spokane, WA 99210
Main switchboard: (509) 459-5000 • (800) 338-8801
Newsroom: (509) 459-5400 • (800) 789-0029
Customer service: (800) 338-8801