Arrow-right Camera


Sat., Feb. 22, 2014, 8:02 a.m.

Medal of Honor

American Flag
American Flag

President Barack Obama will honor 24 soldiers when they finally receive the commendation they deserve. Soldiers who willingly put themselves in the middle of exceptionally dangerous situations and acted heroically were overlooked at the time for the military’s highest honor – the Medal of Honor – because of prejudice against their ethnicity.

Melvin Morris served in the Vietnam War, volunteering for two tours of duty. His courage was recognized with the Distinguished Service Cross at the time. After a ten-year congressionally mandated review of  minorities’ military records, Melvin and 23 other soldiers will be awarded the Medal of Honor; an honor that should have been bestowed on them at the time of their service. Many of the medals will be awarded posthumously since some of the soldiers served in World War II and the Korean War as well as in Vietnam.

Thank you, Melvin Morris, your courage inspires us. Enjoy the recognition you earned so long ago.

(S-R archive photo)

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to EndNotes

Spokesman-Review features writer Rebecca Nappi, along with writer Catherine Johnston of Olympia, Wash., discuss here issues facing aging boomers, seniors and those experiencing serious illness, dying, death and other forms of loss.