Advertise Here

Huckleberries Online

It’s Our Fault: When Did D’s Reign In North Idaho?

It’s Our Fault: Lived here ten years, so I don’t remember the previous “sea of democrats.” I’m only experiencing the 5-6 or so who are now blanketing this blog with “canned” comments. As for me, I have a job that requires me to behave unitl quitting time. How I envy those who can spend 24 X 7 on here. Life can’t be too bad for them …

DFO: Before the Republican revolution of 1994, Democrats outnumbered Republicans in the 5 North Idaho legislative districts 11 to 1. The only Republican holding legislative office was Hilde Kellogg. The four Democrat senators were Tim Tucker, Barbara Chamberlain, Denny Davis and Mary Lou Reed. Remember. North Idaho had four legislative districts then. Not five. After the 1994 sea change, 7 R’s held legislative office in North Idaho to 5 D’s. Before 1994, Democrats dominated politics in Boundary, Bonner, Shoshone and Benewah counties. Shoshone is the only county that remains Democrat today.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

D.F. Oliveria is a columnist and blogger for The Spokesman-Review. Print Huckleberries is a past winner of the Herb Caen Memorial Column contest by the National Association of Newspaper Columnists. The Readership Institute of Northwestern University cited this blog as a good example of online community journalism.

Find DFO on Facebook

DFO on Twitter

Betsy Russell on Twitter

HBO newsmakers Twitter list

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Huckleberries Online.

Take this week's news quiz ›
Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here