Advertise Here

Huckleberries Online

How This S-R Got Prosecutor Office’s Illicit E-mails

Many of you have wondered how SReporter Taryn Brodwater got her hands on the illicit county e-mails, including county civil deputy Darrin Murphey and the county computer guys. Here’s what Taryn told me. Seems we were tipped off to ask for e-mails between Judge Barry Watson and a legal secretary. So, we did. The county computer guys handed them over on Tuesday, after they’d been previewed by Murphey, and … Taryn found absolutely nothing inappropriate on them. However, the next morning, Taryn reviewed the CDisc again, spotting a subfolder entitled, “Deleted Items” (with the No. 50, in parenthesis). Curious, she opened it and — voila! — discovered the 50 e-mails circulated among Rick Baughman, Laura Bonneville and others. Obviously, the county never intended to give us those e-mails. Just as obvious, someone tried to make sure that we never saw them. Call it an early Christmas present. Taryn’s reaction. Ohmigosh. And the rest is herstory.

DFO: You can read the letter from Civil Deputy Darrin L. Murphey to Taryn asking for the CDisk back below.

I understand that the compact disk produced by the County in response to your public records request for the e-mail between Kathy Adams and Barry Watson, inadvertently included certain e-mail in a “deleted items” folder. Those records inadvertently provided to the Spokesman contain information that another County employee has claimed a right to privacy and were not intended to be released by the County. Please return to Kooenai County any and all records contained in the “deleted items” folder. Thank you for your cooperation — Darrin L. Murphey, Civil Attorney.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

D.F. Oliveria is a columnist and blogger for The Spokesman-Review. Print Huckleberries is a past winner of the Herb Caen Memorial Column contest by the National Association of Newspaper Columnists. The Readership Institute of Northwestern University cited this blog as a good example of online community journalism.

Find DFO on Facebook

DFO on Twitter

Betsy Russell on Twitter

HBO newsmakers Twitter list

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Huckleberries Online.

Take this week's news quiz ›
Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here