Advertise Here

Huckleberries Online

Doug Floyd: “I Sabotaged You”

re: Fourth of July error in editorial and subhead that gave the country’s age as 130 rather than 230. The editorial was reprinted today with the correct information here. Doug sent the following note to the Editorial Board this morning, with permission to share it.

It appears I sabotaged you before leaving the office last Friday. You have my sincere and chastened apologies for the Fourth of July error that caused major inconvenience and embarrassment for you. A holiday-shortened week with a short staff is no time to have to deal with an unnecessary distraction. Gary Graham’s more-than-generous post in Ask the Editors did not escape my notice. Folks, nobody read that editorial more times than I did. Nobody had more opportunities to catch the mistake than I did. And, of course, nobody hat more chances to avoid making it in the first place than I did. And, as Steve noted in the daily briefing, gaffes like this only take away from whatever merit the editorial had in the first place. There simply was no excuse for my multiple failures in that regard and I want everyone to know that I take it seriously. I could go on, as you know, but I’ll spare you.

Doug Floyd
SR Opinion Page Editor

DFO: Frankly, all journalists are susceptible to a major error under the crush of deadlines. Doug, an excellent editor and superb wordsmith, got nailed here, in a perfect storm that enabled this error to slide through several other eyes. Managing Editor Gary Graham issued an apology in News Is A Conversation here. Some people actually believe we did this on purpose. All this proves is that we’re all human, including a superb journalist like Doug.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

D.F. Oliveria is a columnist and blogger for The Spokesman-Review. Print Huckleberries is a past winner of the Herb Caen Memorial Column contest by the National Association of Newspaper Columnists. The Readership Institute of Northwestern University cited this blog as a good example of online community journalism.

Find DFO on Facebook

DFO on Twitter

Betsy Russell on Twitter

HBO newsmakers Twitter list

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Huckleberries Online.

Take this week's news quiz ›
Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here