Arrow-right Camera

Huckleberries Online

Mailbag: You Did It, Indeed, Mr. Spencer

Will Larry Spencer (foreground) be the uberconservative power behind Todd Tondee's throne?/Jesse Tinsley, Spokesman-Review photo.

Larry Spencer: For those who care, (all three of you) all my candidates won! :) Sali, Luna, Clark, Hart, Jorgenson, Tondee, Piazza, and in Bonner County, Mueller and Rich. These men ran good campaigns, and I am proud to say that they were the best of the pack. Luna was the nail biting wait, as before Bonner County posted it was Precincts: 879 of 916 ( 96%) reporting Tom Luna Vote total 49,086 (41%) Steve Smylie vote total 49,708 (41%) BUT I asked the voters in Bonner County (in thousands of letters, one to each voters home), to vote for Tom. And they DID!!! Vote totals in Bonner County were Tom Luna, 2,055 and for Steve Smylie, 1,045 for a lead to Tom Luna of 1,010. That is correct, they voted almost 2 to1 for Tom Luna! And Tom won by just 618 votes! Bonner County won the race for Tom Luna!!!! WOW!!!! I have never been so proud of Bonner County in my life! The final numbers are Tom Luna 53,115 Steve Smylie 52,497. I just got off the phone with Tom and he is extremely thankful to Bonner and Kootenai Counties. Thank you, voters, you did it!

DFO: Larry, if you're bragging about Mueller and Rich, you have a long way to paddle until you reach mainstream. I can't think of a worse candidate than Bud Mueller. If he gets into office and succeed in making Rich his waterboy (as he tried with Larry Allen), Bonner County government will again be the laughing stock of the state. Pat yourself on the back, Larry. If you, indeed, helped Mueller get re-elected, you deserve partial credit for pushing Bonner County back to the lunatic fringe.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Huckleberries Online

D.F. Oliveria started Huckleberries Online on Feb. 16, 2004. Oliveria's Sunday print Huckleberries is a past winner of the national Herb Caen Memorial Column contest.