Advertise Here

Huckleberries Online

Chief Allan unnanimously reappointed

Chief Allan, chairman of the Coeur d’Alene Tribe

PLUMMER – Coeur d’Alene Tribe Chairman Chief Allan, who has been Chairman since 2005, was unanimously reappointed Monday morning by the seven-person tribal council. “I am honored to continue to represent the Coeur d’Alene Tribe as chairman,” said Allan. “I love my tribe and I am excited about the upcoming year. There are many exciting times on the horizon.” Two tribal council seats were decided during Saturday’s tribal election.  Charlotte Nilson earned a second three-year term and earned the highest vote total of any candidate this year. More below.

“I want to continue to serve the Coeur d’Alene people to the best of my abilities,” Nilson said. “I am thankful for another opportunity. My goals for the next three years include strengthening tribal government and our individual departments and protecting our sovereignty.” Alfred

Nomee was elected to council for the open seat. He replaces Dave Matheson, who did not seek re-election.

“I am grateful for the support of the individuals who had enough faith on my behalf,” Nomee said. “I am committed to extending what I have to the benefit of the people and to make sure our lands and natural resources are preserved.”

Nomee has worked for the tribe for 32 years, including 12 years as the natural resources director. He graduated from Lakeside High School in 1966 and later the Institute for American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, New Mexico

Nomee helped establish the tribal school in the 1970s and has worked in numerous government departments over the years.

“I come from the traditional family,” said Nomee. “I want to make sure we have similar opportunities to understand the old ways as they provide direct benefit to people and protecting what our past leadership has provided for us.”

Tribal Council seats are staggered three year terms. Each year, the council votes amongst themselves to appoint a Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer. Ernie Stensgar was reappointed Vice Chairman and Norma Jean “Jeanie” Louie remains Secretary/Treasurer. Marc Stewart, Tribal Spokesman.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

D.F. Oliveria is a columnist and blogger for The Spokesman-Review. Print Huckleberries is a past winner of the Herb Caen Memorial Column contest by the National Association of Newspaper Columnists. The Readership Institute of Northwestern University cited this blog as a good example of online community journalism.

Find DFO on Facebook

DFO on Twitter

Betsy Russell on Twitter

HBO newsmakers Twitter list

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Huckleberries Online.

Take this week's news quiz ›
Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here