Huckleberries Online

As You Know …

... Major Ben Wolfinger will be sworn in Monday (along with Commissioners Dan Green and Todd Tondee and Prosecutor Barry McHugh) to replace Rocky Watson. But do you know how many sheriffs have served in Kootenai County over the last 36 years? Ben will be the fourth sheriff to serve since Rocky Watson was elected to a one-year term, as a Democrat, from 1976 to 1980. Rocky lost a re-election bid to Merf Stalder, 1980-88. Who lost a re-election bid to then Democrat Pierce Clegg, 1988-99. Who became a Republican and later stepped down to be replaced by Watson. Who will finish is third term in the Rocky II era Monday. You can find a list of Kootenai County sheriffs dating back to 1932 here.

Question: What will be Rocky Watson's legacy?

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

D.F. Oliveria
Dave Oliveria writes the Huckleberries Online Blog for North Idaho readers and the Huckleberries print column.

Follow Dave online:



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile