Arrow-right Camera

Huckleberries Online

Fri., May 24, 2013, 11:56 a.m.

Trib & Leadfoot Wayne Battle

Do you recall that speeding ticket that Wayne Hoffman of Idaho Freedom Foundation received while in Kootenai County recently? Seems he got into a war of words with the Lewiston Tribune over it:

And he's not happy with the Tribune, which said the lobbyist and political insider was seeking to game the system."I have recently discovered that there are not enough hours in the day to correct the misinformation from the Lewiston Tribune," Hoffman wrote Monday. "No kidding, I would have to hire additional staff just to supervise the nonsense and misinformation, both from the Tribune's reporters and its editorial page."Well, it's true the Tribune's recent editorial about Hoffman's speeding incident glossed over the fact that he's a lead-footed recidivist. So in the interest of transparency, here's what the Idaho Supreme Court data repository shows:

  • July 1, 1995 - Hoffman was stopped and ticketed in Twin Falls County for the same speeding offense he's accused of committing in Kootenai County. He paid a $102 fine.
  • Dec. 8, 1996 - He paid a $48 fine in Cassia County for failing to obey a traffic sign.
  • Dec. 16, 1997 - He paid a $53 fine for speeding in Minidoka County.
  • June 5, 2003 - He paid a $53 speeding ticket in Madison County.
  • Dec. 24, 2003 - He paid a $53 fine for failing to use a turning signal in Ada County.
  • Nov. 21, 2006 - He paid $141.50 for speeding in an Ada County school zone.

Oops. We missed that. Pardon us. - M.T. Today's Cheers & Jeers column

Question: Izzit just me, or do you also think Hoffman should quit digging now the hole he's dug re: this issue is reaching sinkhole proportions?

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

Huckleberries Online

D.F. Oliveria started Huckleberries Online on Feb. 16, 2004. Oliveria's Sunday print Huckleberries is a past winner of the national Herb Caen Memorial Column contest.