Huckleberries Online

TUESDAY, APRIL 29, 2014, 8:23 A.M.

6 Honored For Adding The Words

Councilman Woody McEvers receives the Kootenai County Task Force on Human Relations civil rights award for his part in the council's decision last year to extend city human-rights protection to gays. Former mayor Sandi Bloem and the four other council members who voted in favor of the decision -- Ron Edinger, Deanna Goodlander, Mike Kennedy and Dan Gookin -- also received an individual award. Emcee Tony Stewart is in the background. (Photo: Duane Rasmussen)

Six current and former Coeur d’Alene elected officials were honored Monday night for supporting a change in city law making it illegal to discriminate based on sexual orientation. The Kootenai County Task Force on Human Relations gave its Civil Rights Award to former Mayor Sandi Bloem, former City Council members Mike Kennedy and Deanne Goodlander, and current Councilmen Woody McEvers, Ron Edinger and Dan Gookin. Bloem helped bring the matter before the council last year, and those five council members voted for the change on June 4. The task force also gave Ellen Stamsos its Bill Wassmuth Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award at the group’s annual Human Rights Banquet. Stamsos is the treasurer of the Kootenai County Task Force on Human Relations/Scott Maben, SR. More here.

Question: What values did you learn from your parents?

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Huckleberries Online

D.F. Oliveria
Dave Oliveria writes the Huckleberries Online Blog for North Idaho readers and the Huckleberries print column.

Follow Dave online: