Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Wed., April 29, 2009, 7:48 p.m.

Northwest Region’s Top Late Model Drivers Aim For Wenatchee Victory

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Former champions Wes Rhodes (Yelm, WA) Late Model Challenge Series 2008, Brad Stanwood (Portland, OR) ASA Northwest Tour 2008 and Gary Lewis (Snohomish, WA) LMCS and NWT are registered for Wenatchee Valley this weekend and are set to garner another crown.

Courtesy: Scott Ellsworth, ASA Northwest Late Model Tour Media Relations

Who’s Who in Super Late Model Racing Registered for WVSO on May2

Marysville, WA (April 29, 2009): With pre-race registration now closed for the American Speed Association Northwest Late Model Tour the list is a virtual who’s who in Super Late Model Stock Car racing headed to Wenatchee Valley’s Super Oval in East Wenatchee, Washington on Saturday May 2.

The season opening race for the new traveling series has drawn the top teams for the start of the chase to the championship.

Former champions Wes Rhodes (Yelm, WA) Late Model Challenge Series 2008, Brad Stanwood (Portland, OR) ASA Northwest Tour 2008 and Gary Lewis (Snohomish, WA) LMCS and NWT are registered and set to garner another crown.

With the most wins and championships with the former Northwest Tour, Garrett Evans (E. Wenatchee, WA) has entered. Always a favorite at his home track Evans will be the one to watch. Evans won the first ever Northwest Tour race in 1985 and will be vying to become the first winner of the new ASA NWLMT. 

Others that have local ties to WVSO are Shane Mitchell (E. Wenatchee, WA), Brent Harris (E. Wenatchee, WA), Josh Roberts (Ephrata, WA) and rookie contender Amanda MacDonald (Ephrata, WA).

Others entered that could spoil the plans of these teams are Mike Longton (Moxee, WA) Yakima Speedway’s 2008 Champion, Erick Hargraves (Toppenish, WA) a many time winner in the northwest, Kelly Mann (Monroe, WA) also has many wins under his belt, Jay Sauls (Puyallup, WA) is always strong whenever he runs and Jared Vorse (Olympia, WA) last season’s LMCS rookie of the year.

‘Port City Racecars Rookie of the Year’, contenders Joey Tanner (Portland, OR), Allen Cress (Albany, OR) and MacDonald will start the long journey for the coveted title.

The season begins this Saturday May2, 2009 at Wenatchee Valley’s Super Oval in East Wenatchee, Washington. Back gates open at 12:30pm with qualifying for the iRacing ASA NWLMT plus NW Pro4 Alliance and Dick’s Heating and Air Thunder Cars set for 6:00pm. All the racing action begins at 7:00pm. The night will be capped off with a 125-lap feature for the ASA NWLMT on the high banked .25-mile oval.

For more info call WVSO 509-668-0371 or iRacing ASA NWLMT at 253-312-1080.

Registered Drivers as of 4/29/2009:

Joey Tanner* - Portland, OR

Allen Cress* - Albany, OR

Amanda MacDonald* - Ephrata, WA

Erick Hargraves – Toppenish, WA

Brent Harris – E. Wenatchee, WA

Mike Longton – Moxee, WA

Don Vickery – Seattle, WA

Dan Rhodes – Rainier, WA

Jared Vorse – Olympia, WA

Wes Rhodes – Yelm, WA

Kelly Mann – Monroe, WA

Garrett Evans – E. Wenatchee, WA

Josh Roberts – Ephrata, WA

Tommy Rasmussen – Graham, WA

Mike Kenyon – North Bend, WA

Mark Sundberg – Seattle, WA

Brad Stanwood – Portland, OR

Jay Sauls – Puyallup, WA

Mike Holden – Snohomish, WA

Gary Lewis – Snohomish, WA

Shane Mitchell – E. Wenatchee, WA

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.