Keeping Pace

SATURDAY, JULY 4, 2009, 11:15 P.M.

Garber Wins ARCA West Race In Montana

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Two-time INSSA champion David Garber held off a hard charging Mark Owens for the ARCA West Mac's Series Firecracker 125 presented by SuperSeal at Montana's Raceway Park.

For Immediate Release: Montana Raceway Park








KALISPELL, Mont. (July 4, 2009)-Spokane’s David Garber grabbed the lead early from Alex Lessor then held off a hard charging Mark Owens for his first career main event victory on the ARCA West Mac’s Series at Montana Raceway Park in the SuperSeal 125.




Jared Vorse rallied from an early race incident with Owens to bring home third place with Illinois’s Brian Johnson Jr. fourth and Agni Howell rounding out the top-5.




Lessor led the field to the green flag behind the wheel of his Army-Navy Chevrolet and through the race’s first 30 laps appeared to have a car capable of heading to victory lane and the payoff from Kalispell Toyota, Miller Lite and SuperSeal, but Garber was able to clear for the lead by lap 40 and began to put distance on the field through the race’s midway portion.




Owens and Vorse made contact battling for third second place at lap 85 sending both drivers to the rear of the field on the restart. Each worked together to clear lapped traffic and went from 14th and 15th respectively to battling again for fifth place by lap 100.




The evening’s final caution flew at lap 117 as Clint Habart spun to the inside trying to avoid contact with the lead pack.




Under ARCA West rules lead lap cars and laps down cars run in the order they collected the yellow flag which put Forrest Bauer and John Teppin between Garber and Owens with laps winding down and Vorse ready to pounce if the front two cars made contact.




On the restart Owens tried the high side of Garber exiting turn No. 4 but was unable to clear and moved to attempt an inside groove as the white flag came out. Garber moved to block the outside groove of Owens as the checkered flag flew for the completion of 125 laps of great racing.




“We had a great car here tonight but just had a long way to go to get back to the front after that contact there with (Owens),” said Jared Vorse driver of the Knight Fire Protection Chevrolet. “I came here to win this race but we just came up a bit short but we’ll be back in two weeks for the (Montana) 200 and see if we can do a little bit better.”




Owens was all smiles exiting his car after a second place run.




“My guys and I have been through a lot this last couple of races with the car banged up but it was so great to be able to run this good again and to have my daughter (Taelor Owens) here as the trophy queen to give this trophy means the world to me tonight.”




Garber was happy to have a SuperSeal Firecracker 125 win but admitted that his focus quickly is turning to winning the 19th Annual Coors Light 200 on July 18.




“We came up here to get ready for the 200 and this win sure helps us get there. This Pend Oreille Mechanical Pontiac was great but there at the end it was all I could to hold Mark off for the win,” said the race winner.




In the evening’s two support division Josh Robinson picked up the main event in the Limited Sportsman 35-lap victory while Troy Vandenbilche picked up the 50-lap main event in the Baby Grands of Canada Series.




Robinson survived the battle of attrition in the Limited Sportsman as first Dan Morris then Adam Kinkell dropped to the pits after leading portions of the race.




Chuck Swope, Lonnie Barnett, Zack Mongan, Kinkell rounded out the top-5.




Vandenbilche ran second to Cameron Hayley in qualifying and in the evening’s fast heat but showed the way in the main event as he covered the 12-year old Hayley’s every move in their battle for first place.




Kevin Able, Sarah Jo Paque and Robert Stone rounded out the top-5.




Racing returns to Montana Raceway Park on July 11 with the Express Employment Professionals 100 for the Limited Sportsman with Hornet’s, Compacts, Thunder Roadsters and Bombers also on the night race slate. For more information log onto




Finishing Order For The Firecracker 125 Night At Montana Raceway Park

ARCA West Mac’s Series presented by SuperSeal Construction Products

1)      David Garber

2)      Mark Owens

3)      Jared Vorse

4)      Brian Johnson Jr.

5)      Agni Howell

6)      Bodie Morton

7)      Alex Lessor

8)      Tim Elliott

9)      Tim White

10)   Brian Levant

11)   Roy Wrigley

12)   Bob Delorme

13)   Clint Habart

14)   John Teppin

15)   Forrest Bauer

16)   Chris Dennis

17)   Wrango West

18)   Dean Craig

19)   Aaron Dowler

20)   Troy Schweigert

DNS- Billie Salmonsen (engine)




Baby Grands Of Canada

1)      Troy Vandenbilche

2)      Cameron Hayley

3)      Kevin Abel

4)      Sarha Jo Paque

5)      Robert Stone

6)      Mike Kipp

7)      Dale Edwards

8)      Dan Foraie

9)      Grant Brown

10)   Kyle Vriesing

11)   Rob Fulton

12)   Todd Yanda

Limited Sportsman

1)      Josh Robinson

2)      Chuck Swope

3)      Lonnie Barnett

4)      Zack Mongan

5)      Adam Kinkell

6)      Dan Morris

7)      Jason Robinson

8)      Darell Hegal

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.

Back to Spokesman Mobile