Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Fri., July 31, 2009, 6:30 p.m.

Steckly Overcomes Adversity To Win NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Event

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

It was a historic night as Auto Clearing Motor Speedway hosted the first NASCAR-sanctioned event in the province of Saskatchewan as the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series made its debut at the .333-mile oval.

Courtesy: NASCAR Media Relations

SASKATOON, Sask. – Scott Steckly charged from the rear of the field and won the Velocity Prairie Thunder presented by Bayer Crop Science on Wednesday night at a sold out Auto Clearing Motor Speedway in NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 action.

Racing out of Milverton, Ont., Steckly lost a engine in practice and was not able to make repairs prior to qualifying forcing him to start in the 18th position. However, on Lap 128 he was able to move past Don Thomson Jr. to take the race lead.

Waging a spirited battle all race long, Steckly led the final 37 laps beat Thomson to the line by 3.311 seconds.

Kennington finished third followed by Jason Hathaway, who finished a season-best fourth. Anthony Simone continues a strong sophomore season with a fifth-place finish.

Dave Whitlock, Ron Beauchamp Jr., Andrew Ranger, Jason White and Kerry Micks rounded out the top 10.

It was a historic night as the track hosted the first NASCAR-sanctioned event in the province of Saskatchewan as the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series made its debut at the .333-mile oval.

The race was slowed five times by caution for a total of 40 laps. There were 12 lead changes involving four drivers.

With six races remaining in the season, unofficially in the championship points standings, Ranger is in first place, but his lead over Steckly is just 31 points. Beauchamp holds down the third-place spot.

Earlier in the evening, Thomson won his first pole of the 2009 season. He is the series’ all-time leader in pole awards with 10.

The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 is in action next on Aug. 8 at Mosport Speedway in Bowmanville, Ont., for the Mosport 200.

NASCAR CANADIAN TIRE SERIES presented by MOBIL 1-Velocity Prairie Thunder presented by Bayer Crop Science Results
At Auto Clearing Motor Speedway
Saskatoon, Sask.
Lap length: 0.333 miles
(Start position in parentheses)
 1. (18) Scott Steckly, Milverton, Ont., Dodge, 250 laps, 63.108 mph, $10,000.
 2. (1) Don Thomson, Jr., Hamilton, Ont., Chevrolet, 250, $5,500.
 3. (3) DJ Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont., Dodge, 250, $5,100.
 4. (6) Jason Hathaway, Appin, Ont., Dodge, 250, $4,000.
 5. (11) Anthony Simone, Holland Landing, Ont., Chevrolet, 250, $3,000.
 6. (13) Dave Whitlock, Petrolia, Ont., Dodge, 249, $2,400.
 7. (4) Ron Beauchamp, Jr., Windsor, Ont., Dodge, 249, $2,300.
 8. (5) Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que., Ford, 249, $2,200.
 9. (8) Jason White, Sun Peaks, B.C., Chevrolet, 249, $2,100.
 10. (9) Kerry Micks, Mt. Albert, Ont., Ford, 249, $2,000.
 11. (2) John Gaunt, Barrie, Ont., Dodge, 249, $1,900.
 12. (7) Mark Dilley, Barrie, Ont., Dodge, 248, $1,800.
 13. (10) Nathan Weenk, Lethbridge, Alberta, Chevrolet, 248, $1,700.
 14. (14) Trevor Seibert, Williams Lake, B.C., Ford, 248, $1,650.
 15. (12) Pierre Bourque, Ottawa, Ont., Dodge, 245, $1,600.
 16. (16) Kent Nuhn, Williamsford, Ont., Chevrolet, 242, $1,500.
 17. (17) Dexter Stacey, Kahnawake, Que., Pontiac, 242, $1,450.
 18. (19) Todd Nichol, St. Albert, Alb., Chevrolet, 239, $1,400.
 19. (15) Joey Hanssen, Venray, Holland, Dodge, 227, $1,350.
Race Statistics
Time of Race: 1 hour 19 minutes 9 seconds
Margin of Victory: 3.311 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: D.Thomson, Jr. (80.193 mph, 14.949 seconds)
Caution Flags: 5 for 40 laps.
Lead Changes: 12 among 4 drivers.
Lap Leaders: D. Thomson,Jr. 1-127; S. Steckly 128; D. Thomson,Jr. 129; S. Steckly 130; D. Thomson,Jr. 131-133; S. Steckly 134-137; D. Thomson,Jr. 138-143; S. Steckly 144; J. Gaunt 145-153; S. Steckly 154-183; D. Kennington 184-188; D. Thomson,Jr. 189-212; S. Steckly 213-250.
Standings: 1. A. Ranger, 1179; 2. S. Steckly, 1148; 3. R. Beauchamp,Jr., 1098; 4. D. Kennington, 1090; 5. A. Simone, 1021; 6. D. Whitlock, 1005; 7. K. Micks, 1000; 8. J. Hathaway, 982; 9. D. Thomson,Jr., 964; 10. M. Dilley, 916.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.