Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

INSSA’s Garber King of the Hill at SCR

David Garber, the two-time defending INSSA champion, grabbed win number two of the 2009 season and moved into third place in the series points standings chasing his third straight championship. (Photo courtesy Spokane County Raceway) (The Spokesman-Review)
David Garber, the two-time defending INSSA champion, grabbed win number two of the 2009 season and moved into third place in the series points standings chasing his third straight championship. (Photo courtesy Spokane County Raceway) (The Spokesman-Review)

INSSA champion, David Garber, followed up a win at Stateline Speedway with his second series victory of 2009 this time at Spokane County Raceway.

Source: INSSA Media Relations
June 6, 2009 (Spokane, WA) For the first time in two years, the Inland
Northwest Super Stock Association (INSSA) Super Late Model Series took to the
high-banked half mile oval at Spokane County Raceway.  Kevin Richards set a blistering pace with an 18.160 in the McClintock & Turk Ford to start the day off over Dave Garber’s Concrete Cutters Pontiac coming in at an 18.311. 

A full invert for the main event saw Rob Reinbold and Dan Yonke leading the field to the green flag.  Reinbold jumped out to the lead, with Yonke slipping back in the pack.  Reinbold would lead the first 8 laps, as INSSA point leader Jeff Fenton, Garber and Richards started their charge toward the front.  In his preferred outside groove, Garber slipped by both Fenton and Reinbold to take over the lead on lap 9, while Richards moved up to third by lap 12.

The first yellow flag flew on lap 13 as Billy Belton, making his move for the fourth position, got together with Reinbold.  Belton was sent to the rear of the field for the contact.   As racing resumed, Richards moved passed Fenton to take over the second position with Garber in his sights.  Richards reeled in Garber and took over the top spot on lap 32.

Richards and Garber continued their pace with Fenton in tow, weaving in and out of lapped caps. After contact was made between Richards and the lapped car of Jessie Taylor at the half way point, the yellow flew again.  Richards was directed to the back for the contact.  After a stop in his pit for a wedge adjustment and tire pressures, Richards was ready to make his way back
through the field.

Garber led the field back to green, with Fenton and rookie contender Andrew Zimmer in pursuit.  Five laps later, Richards was back to the fourth position.  Twenty laps to go and
Richards had overtaken Fenton for second and had Garber again in his sights.  As the laps wound down, Garber would hang on for his second win of the season, Richards finished second, Fenton third, Zimmer fourth and Belton finishing in the top 5.

In the Zips Pony Stocks division, a strong field of 21 cars started the day.  A typical full moon racing night usually sees carnage and mayhem, not so this event, as the cool breeze kept the pace moving along quickly with not one single caution flag to slow the 35 lap event.  Rodney Sankey posted the fastest qualifying lap of the day, followed by KC Garber and Tom Plybon.

Brenden Tarr and Chris McIlveen led the field to the green flag, with Tarr holding the top spot for the first 3 laps.  John McCroskey took the lead on lap 4, as fast qualifiers Leo Corruthers, Tom Plybon, KC Garber and Rodney Sankey started threading their way through the field.  McCroskey held the lead until lap 12, when Brycen Tarr made his way to the point.  Tarr would hold off the hard charging Sankey until lap 16, while Garber, Plybon and Corruthers followed close behind.  Sankey led the chase to the checkers.  Garber, Tarr, McCroskey and Corruthers
rounded out the top 5.

Deputy Doughnut definitely missed his quota in the Cops & Robbers division, as his lackluster performance allowed the Robbers to get away unscathed.  Brycen Tarr, missing his opportunity to qualify, started in the back row of the 12 lap event.  Tarr, along with fast time qualifier Scott Rupert close behind, took over the lead by lap 3 and there was no catching these bad
guys.  Tarr would hold on for the win, with Rupert, Harry Hatton, Reesen Tarr and Jerry Kay rounding out the top 5.  Several laps into the event, it looked as if Deputy Doughnut had apprehended some of the villains, only to have them escape his clutches and go on to finish the event well out of his reach. 

Next Saturday you won’t want to miss Spokane County Raceway’s action filled event with the INSCA Winged Sprint cars, along with the Big Sky Late Model series from the Montana area and
Street Stock racing action.  Qualifying gets under way at 6 p.m. with racing at 7:00 p.m.  General admission is $12 for adults, $10 for Students, Military & Seniors, and $5 for kids ages 6 to 14.  Children 5 and under are free.

For more information on Spokane County Raceway, please visit our website at or call our information hotline at (509) 244-3333.

Spokane County Raceway
06/06/09 Results

INSSA SUPER LATE MODELS -- Fast Time 18.160 Kevin
Richards.  A Trophy
Dash -- 1) Kevin Richards, BTrophy Dash
-- 1) Jeff Fenton, AHeat Race -- 1) Dave Garber, BHeat Race ‑‑ 1) Jeff
Fenton.  Main Event -- 1) Garber, 2)
Richards, 3) Fenton, 4) Zimmer, 5) Belton, 6) Kit VanBuskirk, 7) Kameron
McKeehan, 8) Greg McKinley, 9) Dan Yonke, 10) Rob Reinbold.

ZIPS PONY STOCKS – Fast Time 22.329 Sankey, A Trophy Dash –
1) Sankey, BTrophy Dash -- 1) McIlveen, AHeat Race -- 1) McCroskey, , BHeat Race
‑‑ 1) Mitch Jeske. Main Event -- 1) Sankey,
2) Garber, 3) Brycen Tarr, 4) McCroskey, 5) Plybon, 6) Corruthers, 7) Andrew
McKee, 8) Brenden Tarr, 9) Cameron Kellogg, 10) Jeske.

COPS & ROBBERS – Fast Time 23.657 Rupert, A Trophy Dash
– 1) Rupert, AHeat Race -- 1) Rupert. Main
Event -- 1) Tarr, 2) Rupert, 3) Hatton, 4) Reesen Tarr, 5) Clay Murray, 6)
Jerry Kay.

INSSA Late Model Series

2009 Points (after 6/6/09)

Car# Driver TOTAL
1 86 Jeff Fenton 503
2 11 Greg McKiinley 444
3 93 Dave Garber 432
4 44 Jeff Little 376
5 73m Kameron McKeehan 366
6 73z Andrew Zimmer 359
7 23 Corey Allard 342
8 22 Dan Yonke 324
9 3 Shelby Thompson 277
10 18 Kit VanBuskirk 242
11 28 Ross Cooper 230
12 7 Jessie Taylor 224
13 5 Billy Belton 120
14 88 Rusty Webb 110
15 0 Rikk Manzer 108
16 45 Steve Parrish 106
17 6 Rob Reinbold 100

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.