Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Riddle Earns Late Model Victory At Yakima Speedway

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Finding winners circle can be hard to do at ASA sanctioned Yakima Speedway but for 5 drivers on Saturday night victory was hard fought and well earned.

Courtesy: Kelly Hart, Yakima Speedway

The Late Model division saw Owen Riddle of Naches,
WA win his second straight race on the season. The former division champion picked up his first ever win a few weeks ago and followed it up with his second win in a row setting him up for
the Late Model 3 in-a-row bonus offered by track sponsors. Riddle took over the
lead from Darren Stordahl on the 7th lap and cruised to victory
lapping all the way up to the 4th place car of Mike Zamora. Scott
Walker was second followed by Stordahl.

            The Trophy
Dash wins in the Late Model division went to Jesse Brown and Ron Bemis. Bemis
later wrecked his car at the end of the front straightaway tire barriers ending
his evening. Walker
again set fast time, just off his track record of 19.005 with a 19.007 second
lap in time trials.

            For Apple Cup
H&H Furniture Pure Stock Champion Jay Younker this night feature two halves
to his main event. He starting off running away with the race until a mid-race
restart saw fast timer Jeff Liebert (24.855) on his tail. Liebert and Younker
fought tooth and nail for the remaining 12 laps with Younker crossing the line
a car length in front of Liebert, with Rob Allen finishing third. Trophy Dash
wins went to Ron Pepper and Allen with Younker winning the Heat Race.

            In the CWI
Security/EZ Credit Auto Sales Hornet division Daniel Morfin won his first Main
Event of the year along with a sweep of the nights events. Morfin picked up the
lead on the 11th lap and held off Josh Washington and Ryan
Kallenberger for the win. Tim Breshears and Morfin won the Trophy Dashes, with
Morfin and Greg Gargett were the Heat Race winners.

            The Yakima
Driving School Youth Hornets saw Kyler Conduff win the Trophy Dash, with Joe
Roberts winning the Heat Race. Conduff picked off Roberts on the 4th
lap and held on to win the 15-lap affair for his second straight Main Event
victory. Christian Hall finished third.

            Once again
the Bump To Pass duo of Joe and Donnie Stevens led the way. Joe won the main
with Donnie second and Jake Breshears was third. Francisco “Pepe” Rojas
returned to the Speedway
with a Trophy Dash win while Donnie Stevens won the other Dash. Breshears won
the heat.

RESULTS 6/13/09


FAST TIME: 34 Scott Walker 19.007                       

B DASH 05 Jesse Brown, 59 Bill Mills, 28k Alex Kerslake, 28m
Jack Mondor

A DASH 42 Ron Bemis, 12 Dan Obrist, 10 Owen Riddle, 34 Walker

MAIN 10 Owen Riddle, 34 Walker, 4 Darren Stordahl, 52
Zamora, 28m Mondor, 28k Kerslake, 05 Jesse Brown, 59 Mills, 3 Lenard Barthel,
27 Marcus Maggard 

LAP LEADERS 4 Stordahl 1-6, 10 Riddle 7-60


FAST TIME 5 Jeff Liebert 24.855

B DASH 87 Rob Allen, 31 Terry Cook, 58 Derek Raptcheff

A DASH 09 Ron Pepper, 36 Joe Estep, 5 Liebert, 27 Jay

A HEAT 27 Younker, 09 Pepper, 5 Liebert, 87 Allen, 31 Cook

MAIN 27 Jay Younker, 5 Liebert, 87 Allen, 36 Estep, 31 Cook,
09 Pepper, 58 Raptcheff

LAP LEADERS 87 Allen 1, 27 Younker 2-25


B DASH 69 Daniel Morfin,71 Anthony Van Leven, 76 Michael
Beck, 05 Grandpa Moran

A DASH 18 Tim Breshears, 22 Greg Gargett, 06 Josh Washington,
4 Ryan Kallenberger

B HEAT 69 Morfin, 00 Eric Appleby, 5 Cody Denton, 71 Van Leven, 76 Beck

A HEAT 22 Gargett, 06 Washington,26 Jessica Tidrick,20 Chris
Morrison,12 Keith Erickson

MAIN 69 Daniel Morfin, 06 Washington, 4 Kallenberger, 26
Tidrick, 20 Morrison, 00 Appleby, 5 Denton, 18 Breshears, 71 Van Leven, 76
Beck, 22 Gargett, 34 Chris Marang, 51 Josh Parmentier, 12 Keith Erickson, 16
Milo John

LAP LEADERS 76 Beck 1-4, 22 Gargett 5-10, 69 Morfin 11-20


DASH 86 Kyler Conduff, 5 Christian Hall, 7 Joe Roberts, 0
Abigail Martin

HEAT: 7 Roberts, 5 Hall, 86 Conduff, 0 Martin

MAIN 86 Kyler Conduff, 7 Roberts, 5 Hall, 0 Martin

LAP LEADERS 7 Roberts 1-3, 86 Conduff 4-15


B DASH 22 Francisco Rojas, 4 Julie McAlpin, 82 Crystal

A DASH 44 Donnie Stevens, 77 Jake Breshears, 43 Joe Stevens

HEAT  77 Breshears, 43
J. Stevens, 44 D. Stevens, 4 McAlpin, 22 Rojas

MAIN 43 Joe Stevens, 44 D. Stevens, 77 Breshears, 82
Richter, 4 McAlpin, 22 Rojas

LAP LEADERS 43 J. Stevens 1-8, 44 D. Stevens 9, 43 J.
Stevens 10-15

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.