Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Walters Wins Limited Late Model Race At Yakima Speedway

 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

East Wenatchee's Chris Walters picked up the pole award then went onto victory at Yakima Speedway for the traveling Limited Late Model Series.

(Yakima, WA) 5/23/09 by Kelly Hart

An early start for the Memorial Day races produced hot racing action at ASA Sanctioned Yakima Speedway. New track records were set in two divisions and new main event winners collected trophies and winners checks.

The visiting Limited Late Model Racing Series visited with Chris Walters setting fast time at 20.490 and winning the 20-lap Main Event. Walters also won his heat race. Jeremy Mullins of Naches, WA won the Trophy Dash.

In the Burger Ranch Sportsman division defending champion Mel Patnode set fast time in qualifying with a 23.103 second lap around the half mile track. Patnode also won his Trophy Dash. Jesse Vincent won the other Trophy Dash. The Heat Races were won by Barry Mueller and Randy Marshall, Jr. . Marshall, Jr led the final 24 laps of the 30-lap Main Event for the win.

Greg Gargett set a new track record for the Hornets with a 17.214 clocking. Gargett won his heat and the 20-lap Main Event. Other Hornet winners were Ryan Kallengberger and Keith Erickson with Trophy Dash wins. Steve Hall picked up the other heat race win.

It was a great night for Kyle Wade in the Bump to Pass division winning the 15 lap Main Event in his brand new car along with a heat race win. Donnie Stevens set fast time with a new track record of 18.345. Joe Stevens won the Trophy Dash.


RESULTS 5/23/09



FAST TIME: 5 Chris Walters 20.490

DASH: 88 Jeremy Mullins, 55 Aaron Haley, 5 Walters, 21 Rick Gerard

HEAT: 5 Walters, 55 Haley, 21 Gerard, 88 Mullins

MAIN: 5 Chris Walters, 55 Haley, 21 Gerard, 08 Jeff Mullins, 88 Jeremy Mullins

Lap Leaders: 88 Jeremy Mullins 1, 21 Gerard 2-6, 5 Walters 7-20



FAST TIME: 04 Mel Patnode 23.103

B DASH: 54 Jesse Vincent, 11 Terry Taylor, 63 Don Klang, 16 Barry Mueller

A DASH: 04 Patnode, 7 Reese Kastl, 42 Jason Huffines, 52 Randy Marshall, Jr.

B HEAT: 16 Mueller, 63 Klang, 11 T. Taylor, 00 Dan Wilson, 10 James Norman

A HEAT: 52 Marshall, Jr., 04 Patnode, 55 Kevin Taylor, 7 Kastl, 42 Huffines

MAIN: 52 Randy Marshall, Jr., 04 Patnode, 95 Thomas Benscoter, Sr., 7 Kastl, 55 K. Taylor, 16 Mueller, 42 Huffines, 54 Vincent, 63 Klang, 11 T. Taylor, 00 Wilson, 10 Norman

Lap Leaders: 11 Terry Taylor 1-2, 42 Huffines 3-5, 53 Marshall, Jr. 6-30



FAST TIME: 22 Greg Gargett 17.214 new track record

B DASH: 12 Keith Erickson, 20 Chris Morrison, 76 Michael Beck, 34 Chris Marang

A DASH: 4 Ryan Kallenberger, 22 Gargett, 51 Josh Parmentier, 06 Josh Washington

B HEAT: 72 Steve Hall, 5 Christian Hall, 12 Erickson, 20 Morrison, 76 Beck

A HEAT: 22 Gargett, 4 Kallenberger, 06 Washington, 51 Parmentier, 16 Milo John

MAIN: 22 Greg Gargett, 4 Kallenberger, 20 Morrison, 18 Tim Breshears, 12 Erickson, 5 C. Hall, 06 Washington, 76 Beck, 26 Jessica Tidrick, 72 S. Hall, 16 John, 51 Parmentier, 34 Marang, 69 Daniel Morfin

Lap Leaders: 34 Marang 1-2, 22 Gargett 3-20



FAST TIME: 44 Donnie Stevens 18.345 new track record

DASH: 43 Joe Stevens, 03 Kyle Wade, 44 D. Stevens

HEAT: 03 Wade, 43 J. Stevens, 44 D. Stevens

MAIN: 03 Kyle Wade, 43 J. Stevens, 44 D. Stevens

Lap Leaders: 03 Kyle Wade 1-10, 43 J. Stevens 11-12, 03 Wade 13-15

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.