Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace


Matt Hein won the Rebel Jackson Memorial at Ephrata Raceway Park. (Photo courtesy of NSRA) (The Spokesman-Review)
Matt Hein won the Rebel Jackson Memorial at Ephrata Raceway Park. (Photo courtesy of NSRA) (The Spokesman-Review)

With just three races left in the 2009 Championship season Matt Hein continues to lead the points as he has virtually all season.

Courtesy: NSRA Media Relations

Portland, OR – September 9, 2009 - The American Speed Association/Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association (ASA/NSRA) makes its eighth stop of the slightly abbreviated 2009 Championship season at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, WA September 12th for the fourth running of the Rory Price Memorial (RPM). 

With just three races left in the 2009 Championship season Matt Hein continues to lead the points as he has virtually all season.  Behind him is Jeff Montgomery and Cory Lockwood still in contention for the ASA/NSRA Championship.  A serious misstep by Hein will leave the door wide open for Montgomery and Lockwood provided they can continue to finish well over the last three races.  The prestigious Rory Price Memorial will bring a much larger field requiring the top three in points to utilize all their talents in driving and in car preparation by their teams to win or at least finish well.

The Rory Price Memorial has become one of the most intense events on the ASA/NSRA calender with a substantial payout to the drivers plus many contingency prizes for the competitors.  Rory Price holds a special place in the hearts of many Northwest open wheel competitors thus attracting so many quality cars for this race.

Rory Price made a huge impact on so very many lives in his native western Washington home as well as the entire length of the west coast.  Rory started out in go-karts moving to mini-sprints, midgets, and sprint cars.  He started racing professionally at age sixteen and could be found in most any type of open wheeled car on dirt or asphalt.  He had a particular love of midgets but was equally competitive in any type of open wheeled car he stepped into on dirt or pavement.  Rory died of injuries in a testing accident on March 31, 2006 Close friends and relatives made a commitment to honor Rory Price thus the RPM was born.  With this fourth running of the Rory Price Memorial organizers have worked hard to make this a premier event for open wheeled racers, a race that teams want to come participate in to honor the memory of Rory Price.  All proceeds from RPM memorabilia and donations will go to  The Rory Price Family Fund established at Chase Bank for the care of his 4-year-old daughter.

Evergreen Speedway is the longest racetrack these drivers will see during the 2009 Championship season at over five-eighths mile in length with 8-degree banked turns.  In addition, with a much larger than normal purse for the winner a substantially larger field of cars are expected to compete.  Over thirty winged sprint cars are anticipated for the Rory Price Memorial.  

A purse of $2500 to win, $1500 for second, and $1000 for third plus contingency prizes for all cars participating has been secured by a long list of sponsors that have contributed generously of their time, money, and prizes making this a truly special event!  Sponsors include:  Fleet Service,               Signature Texturing Service, American Music, Longacre Racing, Frankie's Pizza, Millennium Motors, Digital FX Motorsports Marketing, Advanced Sprint Car Toys for Trucks, Divers Street Rods Inc., Thompson Printing Corps., Nitro Graphics, Joes Racing Products, MM Industries, Triple X Race Co., Dirt Inc., Apex Overhead Garage Door Service, LLC, Randy Can, CES NW Inc., Dard Price,      Masonry Restoration Inc., Tom & Sarah Root, Performance Coatings, Skagit Speedway,                NSRA Officials, Western Speed & Fuel, BR Motorsports, Shark Racing Engines, Superior Skulls,  Direct Carpet Services, The Sign Factory, Speed Mart, Smiley's Pro Lube, Pure Power! Inc.,       Hansen's Towing, Viewpoint Drywall & Construction, Design 500 Raceware, Isackson Dozing, Inc., Firstline Systems, Inc., Don's Group Attire, Golden Eagle Investments, The Liquid Lime,                    and Malahat Auto Parts.  

Don “Rabbitt” Gist, owner of A-Burk & CO. Glass has offered up $500 to the quick qualifier if he/she will start at the back of the field in the main event and take the win !

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.