Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Mon., Sept. 14, 2009, 12:15 a.m.


 (The Spokesman-Review)
(The Spokesman-Review)

Owen Riddle runs third in the final regualr season late model race at Yakima Speedway to wrap-up his second championship in the last three seasons.

Courtesy: Kelly Hart, Yakima Speedway Media Relations

            Saturday night at ASA sanctioned Yakima Speedway four of the five
classes that were racing decided their season champions for the 2009
race schedule.

            In the Late Model division Owen Riddle won his second track
championship. Winning their first championships were Kyler Conduff in
the Yakima Driving School Youth Hornets, Ryan Kallenberger for the EZ
Credit Auto Sales / CWI Security Hornets and Jake Breshears winning the
Bump To Pass class honors.

            Racing action on the ½ mile asphalt oval began with time ins. Mel
Patnode set the pace for the Sportsman with a 23.178 clocking. Mike
Longton was fast time for the Late Models with a 19.028.

            First up were the Trophy Dashes for all 5 divisions. Ron Bemis and Bill
Mills who entered the night tied for second place won the Late Model 4
lappers. Julie Melville and Chris Marang won the Hornet trophies. For
the Sportsman, Mel Patnode won while Kyler Conduff took the Youth Hornet
hardware. In the Bump To Pass division Joe Stevens and Kyle Wade took
the checkered flag first.

            The Heat Races saw some familiar faces with Marang and Josh Parmentier
winning the Hornet Heats, Conduff the Youth Hornet race, Patnode the
Sportsman race and Joe Stevens the Bump To Pass 8 lap race.

            Main Events for the evening and the first Championship to be decided
started off with the ten lap Youth Hornet race. Joseph Roberts took the
lead from Kyler Conduff on the sixth lap for the win. Conduff finished
with more points and won the 2009 Youth Hornet championship over

            When the green flag flew on the start of the Hornet Main event, 2009
rookie-of- the- year and champion Ryan Kallenberger had wrapped up both
titles. After the wild event ended Daniel Morfin was in the winners
circle, along with Kallenberger and Parmentier for the top 3.

            The Sportsman class 20-lap Main Event went to Mel Patnode. Patnode blew
past Jesse Vincent to lead the second lap then held off hard charging
Thomas Benscoter, Sr. for the last 18 laps in one of the closest races
of the night. Patnode's clean sweep of the evening extended his point
lead heading into the final night next weekend at Season Championships
Round 2.

            For the 60-lap Late Model Main Event, Mike Zamora led all 60 laps while
fending off serious challenges from visiting ASA NW Tour driver Jared
Vorse and Owen Riddle.  That was also the top 3 at the finish of a very
entertaining Late Model race featuring 13 cars. Defending Late Model
Champion Mike Longton had a tire go down and exited off turn one on the
36th lap bringing out a red flag. Another red flag flew three laps later
when Dan Obrist slipped up the track forcing Taylor Riddle into the wall
outside turn 4. In winners circle Zamora declared his car ready for Fall
Classic coming up in three weeks. Winning the 2009 Late Model
Championship was Owen Riddle, his second title in the division.

            Another class champion was crowned upon the flying of the green flag in
the Bump To Pass cars. Jake Breshears ended the night with a second flat
tire, but won the Championship despite not finishing the Main. Joe and
Donnie Stevens swapped the lead a few time with Joe Stevens winning the
final Main Event of the season for the BTP cars.        


Fast time: 19.028 Mike Longton

B dash: Bill Mills, Jack Mondor, Taylor Riddle, Christopher Kalsch

A dash: Ron Bemis, Owen Riddle, Longton, Erick Hargraves

Main: Mike Zamora, Jared Vorse, O. Riddle, Mondor, Kalsch, Marcus Maggard,
Hargraves, Mills, Lenard Barthel, Dan Obrist, T. Riddle, Longton, Bemis

Lap leaders: Zamora 1-60

2009 Champion: Owen Riddle


B dash: Julie Melville, Tyler Breshears, Eric Coble, Michael Beck

A dash: Chris Marang, Ryan Kallenberger, Keith Erickson, Chris Morrison

B heat: Josh Parmentier, Reese Kastl, Melville, Breshears, Cord Jackman

A heat: Marang, Greg Gargett, Daniel Morfin, Kallenberger, Erickson

Main: Daniel Morfin, Kallenberger, Parmentier, Kastl, Erickson, Jessica Tidrick,
Joseph Roberts, Jackman, Gargett, Melville, Coble, Morrison, Breshears, Beck, Marang

Lap leaders: Jackman 1, Morfin 2-20

2009 Champion: Ryan Kallenberger


Dash: Kyler Conduff, Joseph Roberts

Heat: Conduff, Roberts

Main: Joseph Roberts, Conduff

Lap leaders: Conduff 1-5, Roberts 6-10

2009 Champion: Kyler Conduff


B dash: Kyle Wade, Crystal Richter, Allen Reid

A dash: Joe Stevens, Donnie Stevens, Jake Breshears

Heat: Joe Stevens, Wade, Richter, Donnie Stevens, Eddie Abrams

Main: Joe Stevens, Wade, Reid, Richter, Donnie Stevens, Abrams, Breshears

Lap leaders: Joe Stevens 1-9, Donnie Stevens 10-13, Joe Stevens 14-20

2009 Champion: Jake Breshears


Fast time: 23.178 Mel Patnode

Dash: Patnode, Thomas Benscoter Sr., Jesse Vincent, Jerry Walker Jr., Tony Huffines

Heat: Patnode, Benscoter Sr., Huffines, Vincent, Walker Jr.

Main: Mel Patnode, Benscoter Sr., Vincent, Walker Jr., Huffines

Lap leaders: Vincent 1, Patnode 2-20

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.