Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Longton Wins 44th Annual Yakima Speedway Apple Cup

Yakima Speedway logo. (courtesy of Yakima Speedway)
Yakima Speedway logo. (courtesy of Yakima Speedway)

2008 Yakima Fall Classic winner and past late model champion, Mike Longton, jumped out to the lead at lap 48 of the 44th Annual Yakima Speedway Apple Cup and never looked back en route to the victory.

Courtesy: Scott Ellsworth, Yakima Speedway

Yakima, WA (April 12, 2010): Mike Longton of Moxee, Washington was the winner of the 44th Annual Columbia Asphalt Apple Cup at Yakima Speedway in Yakima, Washington. It was Longton’s first win of the prestigious Pacific Northwest event. The winners of the support divisions on Sunday were, John Raney of Yakima, WA in the Burger Ranch Sportsman 40-lap main and in the 60-lap main for the Tire Center Super Streets it was Mel Patnode from Selah, WA.

Longton took the lead of the 100-lap Apple cup feature on lap 42 just prior to the break for tires. In the second half of the race Longton built as much as a two-second lead over eventual 2nd place finisher Shane Mitchell from Orondo, WA. Mitchell on several occasions was able gain on Longton. When Mitchell got close Longton turned it up a bit to pull away from Mitchell. The only time Longton’s win could have been in jeopardy was on a restart at lap 94. Not to be denied Longton made a perfect restart and won easily. Owen Riddle of Naches, WA was third.

The Burger Ranch Sportsman main had a spirited battle for the lead the entire 40-laps. Raney kept every challenger at bay. Yakima, WA resident Jason Huffines finished a close second while Chris VanAmburg from Yakima, WA was third.

Patnode took the lead on lap 22 and was never headed the remainder of the 60-lap feature for the Tire Center Super Streets division.  Randy Marshall Jr. tried valiantly to mount a charge on Patnode but the car just would not respond. Marshall finished second ahead of Dusty John from Moxee, WA.

Next up at Yakima Speedway on Saturday evening April 24 is the start of the new 11-race Super Late Model Series with the point’s leader at the end of the series to receive $8,000 of the $30,000 to be awarded. Also joining in on the season opener will be the Burger Ranch Sportsman, Hornets, Youth Hornets and the entertaining Bump- to- Pass division.

For more information contact Yakima Speedway at 509-248-0647


Official Finishes:

Apple Cup 2010

Yakima Speedway – Sunday April 11

100-lap (1/2-mile oval) Apple Cup Feature: 1-100 – Mike Longton – Moxee, WA; 2 –100 – Shane Mitchell – Orondo, WA; 3- 100 – Owen Riddle – Naches, WA; 4- 100 – Naima Lang – Snohomish, WA; 5- 100 – Shane Harding – Langley, B.C.; 6- 100 – Joey Tanner – Portland, OR; 7- 100 – Brian Levant – Calgary, Alb.; 8- 100 – Rick Suran – Estacada, OR; 9- 93 – Duke Langley – McNary, OR; 10- 78 - Dan Obrist – Portland, OR; 11- 25 – Jason Fraser – Snohomish, WA; 12- 24 – Brent Harris – E. Wenatchee, WA

40-lap Burger Ranch Sportsman: 1- John Raney – Yakima, WA; 2- Jason Huffines – Yakima, WA; 3- Chris VanAmburg – Yakima, WA; 4- Matt McDougal – Yakima, WA; 5- Don Klang – Yakima, WA; 6- Jerry Walker Jr. – Yakima, WA; 7- Ed St Mary – Moxee, WA; 8- Jeff Leibert – Yakima, WA; 9- Chris Richter Jr. – Selah, WA; 10- Jeremy Mullins – Naches, WA; 11- Bobby Stewart – Yakima, WA; 12- Morgan Morrison – Yakima, WA; 13- Dan Wilson – Yakima, WA; 14- Ron Morton – Yakima, WA

60-lap Tire Center Super Streets: 1- Mel Patnode – Selah, WA; 2- Randy Marshall Jr. – Moxee, WA; 3- Dusty John – Moxee, WA; 4- Shane Brim – Malaga, WA; 5- Billy Benge – Yakima, WA; 6- Zach Beaman – Yakima, WA; 7- Barry Mueller – Yakima, WA; 8- Chuck Roberts – Yakima, WA; 9- Mike VanAmburg – Yakima, WA; 10- Todd Connell – Yakima, WA; 11- Mitch Kleyn – Quincy, WA; 12- Andy Beaman – Selah, WA

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.