Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Sun., Aug. 15, 2010, 12:14 a.m.

Basler, Young, Morris, Irwin and Lee Nab Main Event Wins At MRP

MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)
MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)

Montana Raceway Park's racing is fast coming to a close with points battles tight in several divisions. Scott Lee and Zach Havens were tied coming in Saturday's racing action for the MRP Thunder Roadster championship but Lee picked up a win and moved back atop the standings.

Courtesy: Montana Raceway Park Media Relations

KALISPELL, Mont. (August 14, 2010)-Kyle Basler took advantage of the reversal of racing direction in the Montana Raceway Park Hornet main event and held off hard-charging Justin Greskowiak to claim his second main event of the 2010 season.


Turning to the left for the first 10 laps of the 25-lap main event, officials turned the field around and had the drivers complete the final 15 laps of racing going to the right in each corner. Dennis Galloway had been the strongest car in the first 10 laps but Basler kicked it up a notch once the field turned around in the backstretch and worked to a five car length lead over Greskowiak who held off Ryan Krause at the stripe.


Troy Pilgram and Galloway rounded out the top-5 running order.


Scott Lee and Zach Havens came into the Thunder Roadster racing action tied atop the driver points standings for the 2010 championship. When the smoke cleared Lee blistered the field in the 25-lap main event and moved back atop the championship standings based on his victory over Dave Daughtry and John Logan. Newcomers Kyle Koehler and Brandon Grovesner rounded out the top-5 with Havens finishing in sixth.


Jason Young continued his quest for a second consecutive Flathead Beacon Bomber championship with a convincing victory over Chris Warburton and Ray Young.


Young moved to the lead near the midway point of the 25-lap main event and held Warburton off at the checkered flag by .80-seconds. Two seconds behind the leaders to the stripe was Young with Bill McCallum and Cory Reum rounding out the top-5.


With Bill Mitchell unable to take part in the Flathead Beacon Crusin’ Compact racing scheduled for the weekend Tyler Irwin jumped into the familiar No. 44 and gave the fans a great show as he moved from the back of the field to the front and chased Tim Davis for several laps looking to take the lead. Marvin Stone and Ernie Cahala matched Irwin and Davis’ laps and the foursome never strayed too far from the other over the final 10 laps. Irwin cleared Davis exiting turn No. 2 with Stone unable to use the same line for the runner-up position.


Danny Morris claimed his third MRP Super Stock main event victory of the season over Chuck Swope and Bruce Stinger.


Montana Raceway Park takes next weekend off to celebrate the Northwest Montana Fair in Kalispell. Racing action returns to the high-banked oval on August 28 with the Northwest Late Model Shootout 150 for the Lucas Oil Super Late Model Series sponsored by 103.9 The Monster, Miller Lite Racing and KOFI. To learn more call (406) 257- RACE (7223), log onto or text MTRACE to 91011.


Main Event Unofficial Results

MRP Hornets

Kyle Basler

Justin Greskowiak

Ryan Krause

Troy Pilgram

Dennis Galloway

Kendra Bicknell

Jessica Berglund

Keith Sheppard

Tyler Volkman

Jamie Nimmick

Brandon Huntley


MRP Thunder Roadsters

Scott Lee

Dave Daughtry

John Logan

Kyle Koehler

Brandon Grovesner

Zach Havens


Flathead Beacon Bombers

Jason Young

Chris Warburton

Ray Young

Bill McCallum

Cory Reum

Josh Norris

Jimmy Worsham

Dave Berglund


MRP Super Stocks

Dan Morris

Chuck Swope

Bruce Stinger


Flathead Beacon Crusin’ Compacts

Tyler Irwin

Tim Davis

Marvin Stone

Ernie Cahala

Kathie Colangelo

Nancy Davis

Tim Stoddard

DNS-Danella White

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.