Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Fought, Fisher, White, Brown and Macken nab wins at ERP

ERP logo. (Courtesy ERP)
ERP logo. (Courtesy ERP)

Mid-Season championship racing was on tap in Ephrata with five winners crown led by 360 Sprint Car winner, Mike Fought of Othello, Wash.

Courtesy: K. Hart, ERP Media Relations

With temperatures hovering near 100 degrees Saturday night at Ephrata Raceway Park it was hard to tell what was hotter. The weather or the racing action.
Six divisions took to the track with Main Event wins going to Mike Fought in the 7-UP 360 Sprints, Skyler Leseman in the Pepsi Cola Street Stocks, David Macken in the Super Stocks, Doug Brown in the Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stocks, Dallas White in the Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II Pure Stocks and Colton Fisher claiming the Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornets.
Colton Fisher just missed a clean sweep in the Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornet division. Fisher finished second in the Trophy Dash behind Tayler Blackburn, but set fast time at 17.657 and won the Heat Race and Main Event.
In the Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II Pure Stocks, Main Event winner Jake McGraw failed post race technical inspection handing the win to Dallas White. Fast time went to Derrick Kapalo using Colton Fishers Honda for the night with a 17.771. The Trophy Dash winner was Brad Arneson who also won the A Heat Race. Michael White won the B Heat Race.
The Super Stock division saw David Macken come away with the Main Event win in addition to his Heat Race victory. Brad Morrison set fast time at 15.872. Mitch Kleyn won the Trophy Dash.
Some wild action took place in the Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stock Main Event as point leader and Heat Race winner Bart Hector, Jr. leaked oil and slicked up the track. When the clean up was done Doug Brown led the final laps of the Main Event. It was Brown setting fast time at 16.671. Sid White won the Trophy Dash.
For the last month Skyler Leseman has been turning some fast laps and really getting things figured out in the Pepsi Cola Street Stocks. Leseman just missed a clean sweep when Mitch Kleyn won the Heat Race. Leseman set fast time of 16.257 in addition to winning the Dash and Main Event.
The 7-UP Sprint Car feature saw Joe Smith and Mike Fought locked in fierce competition running laps near what the fast time qualifier ran. Fought led qualifying with a 12.323 second lap. Smith won the Heat Race and Kurt Myers won the Trophy Dash. Smith led the first 19 laps holding off Fought in the feature. Fought found room underneath Smith coming off turn two and took the lead into turn three for the winning pass.
Saturday night July 18th features Motocross under the lights at Ephrata Raceway Park. Registration begins at 4pm. Oval track racing resumes July 25th. Details at .
Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornets:
Fast time: 44 Colton Fisher 17.657
Dash: 8 Tayler Blackburn, 44 Fisher, 32 Chase Kirk, 00 Dylan Adamson
Heat: 00 Adamson, 44 Fisher, 99 Tyler Redin, 72 Derik Burck, 32 Kirk
Main: 44 Colton Fisher, 72 Burck, 00 Adamson, 32 Kirk, 20 Mykkal Mulalley, 4 Isaac Villareal, 89 Patrick Hector, 8 Blackburn, 99 Redin
Lap leaders: 72 Burck 1-5, 44 Fisher 6-15
Ephrata Pioneer Muffler II Pure Stocks
Fast time: 44 Derrick Kapalo 17.771
Dash: 8 Brad Arneson, 09 Dallas White, 28 Jake McGraw, 32 Terry McGraw
B Heat: 9 Michael White, 63 Nathan Schell, 62 Jeremy Larsen, 25 Terry Collins
A Heat: 8 Arneson, 44 Kapalo, 28 J. McGraw, 09 D. White, 20 Mike Mulalley
Main: 09 Dallas White, 9 M. White, 8 Arneson, 32 T. McGraw, 20 Mulalley, 89 Glenn Hector, 63 Schell, 25 Collins, 44 Kapalo, 62 Larsen
Lap leaders: 63 Schell 1, 9 M. White 2-3, 28 J.McGraw 4-20 (post race DQ)
Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stocks
Fast time: 84 Doug Brown 16.671
Dash: 1 Sid White, 84 Brown, 68 Bart Hector Jr., 18 Jeremy Razey
Heat: 68 Hector Jr., 44 Sean Myers, 1 White, 84 Brown, 18 Razey
Main: 84 Doug Brown, 18 Razey, 1 White, 50 Tim Clark, 07 Rod Whited, 68 Hector Jr.
Lap leaders: 68 Hector Jr 1-5, 84 Brown 6-10
Super Stocks
Fast time: 4 Brad Morrison 15.872
Dash: 1 Mitch Kleyn, 77 Robert Kirk, 7 David Macken, 4 Morrison
Heat: 7 Macken, 77 Kirk, 4 Morrison, 1 Kleyn
Main: 7 David Macken, 4 Morrison, 77 Kirk, 1 Kleyn
Lap leaders: 7 Macken 1-15
Pepsi Cola Street Stocks
Fast time: 21 Skyler Leseman 16.257
Dash: 21 Leseman, 1 Mitch Kleyn, 18 Jason Ray, 12 Rick Bretches
Heat: 1 Kleyn, 46 Terry Osborn, 18 Ray, 12 Bretches, 4 JR Stratfull
Main: 21 Skyler Leseman, 12 Bretches, 18 Ray, 46 Osborn, 66 Kyle Childress, 1 Kleyn, 4 Stratfull
Lap leaders: 4 Stratfull 1, 12 Bretches 2-12, 21 Leseman 13-20
7-UP 360 Sprint Cars
Fast time: 78 Mike Fought 13.323
Dash: 2x Kurt Myers, 7 Joe Smith, 78 Fought, 24 Todd Lolkus
Heat: 7 J.Smith, 78 Fought, 24 Lolkus, 2 Adam Smith, 96 Jatender Veenstra
Main: 78 Mike Fought, 7 J. Smith, 24 Lolkus, 2 A. Smith, 96 Veenstra, 25 Whitney Nolan, 2x Myers
Lap leaders: 7 J. Smith 1-19, 78 Fought 20-25

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.