Keeping Pace

Lewis Starts From The Pole For 20th Annual Coors Light Montana 200

Gary Lewis interviews with MRN Radio's Paul Bartholomew after winning the Coors Light Montana 200. (Photo courtesy of Caren Strimple, Northfork Photo/Montana Raceway Park) (The Spokesman-Review)
Gary Lewis interviews with MRN Radio's Paul Bartholomew after winning the Coors Light Montana 200. (Photo courtesy of Caren Strimple, Northfork Photo/Montana Raceway Park) (The Spokesman-Review)

Three-time Coors Light Montana 200 champion, Gary Lewis, will lead the field to the green flag for the 20th running of the famed event. David Garber, the defending INSSA champion, lines up 18th. The race will be streamed live on with audio and video beginning at 5 p.m. PST on Saturday night.


For Immediate Release: Montana Raceway Park Media Relations



KALISPELL, Mont. (July 16, 2010)-When the dust settled Mike Longton had nabbed the top qualifying in time trails while Gary Lewis used his top-3 finish and a top-6 qualifying effort to earn the top spot when the green flag flies on Saturday, July 17 for the 20th Annual Coors Light Montana 200.


Longton was the only car to qualifying under 13 seconds as the driver of CLS Farms Chevrolet blazed to a 12.983-sec. lap. With a strong run in the Fast-12 Heat the Moxee, Wash. native will start third in the finale.


Lewis was nervous when qualifying began as the field of 42 cars were all within .5-seconds of each other in the final practice session. With a sixth place run in qualifying and a runner-up run in the Fast-12 the three-time Montana 200 champion will have the best seat on the track when the race begins as he'll lead the field to the green.


Once racing got underway for transfer positions into the Montana 200 it was Spokane's David Garber and the Pend Oreille Mechanical Pontiac that had one of the strongest runs of the evening as he won the C-Main then ran to sixth place in the B-Main to lock down the final position offered in Friday's racing.


Bodie Morton and his Carlson Law Office Chevrolet picked up the win in the B-Main and will start 13th on the field, exactly the same position he nailed down in qualifying.


Yakima's Owen Riddle was the only driver unable to answer the qualifying bell as the driver of the Don Riddle Excavating Ford lost a motor in the final practice leading into qualifying and had to withdraw.


Several drivers had damage in the transfer races with Agni Howell, Jared Vorse, Jim White, Kevin Richards and Mark Sundberg all working throughout the evening to make their car ready and able to do battle for the final six positions in the Montana 200. Those positions will be contested at 6 p.m. MST in a Last Chance Qualifiers Race.


In the Westward Bound Construction/Keller-Williams Realty Legends Series, Tim Corbett and Tyler Corpron battled throughout the main event for the win with Corpron getting shuffled back to second place late then making contact with Joe Bisset sending both drivers to the rear of the field. Dave Daughtry managed to avoid the spinning pair and rode home to a runner-up finish with Jake Grossweiler rounding out the top-3.


The finale of the 20th Anniversary celebration of Montana Raceway Park and the famed Montana 200 concludes Saturday, July 17 beginning at 6 p.m. with a Last Chance Main Event, opening ceremonies at 7 p.m., a Legend main event with the Montana 200 set to take the green flag at 9 p.m. MST. The race will be broadcast on Montana Country 106.3 The Bear, streamed on their website and MRP's website and up-to-date information on RacingWest.  


Tickets are available for advanced purchase on the track's website or at the door. To learn more call (406) 257- RACE (7223), log onto or text MTRACE to 91011.


20th Annual Coors Light Montana 200 B-Main Unofficial Results

Bodie Morton

Wrango West

John Nesmith

Cory Wolfe

Erick Hargraves

David Garber

Mike Obrist

Blake Williams

Tim Elliott

Ryan Wells

Kelly Mann

Greg Vangool

Billy Salmonsen

Chris Skelton

Dan Obrist

Jay Sauls

Troy Schweigert

Jared Vorse


C-Main Unofficial Results

David Garber

Tim Elliott

Blake Williams

Mike Obrist

Kelly Mann

Ryan Wells

Dan Garber

Greg Funk

Grant Brown

Braeden Havens

Chuck Dills

Mark Sundberg

Joey Tanner

Agni Howell

Brent Harris

Jim White

Kevin Richards

Amanda MacDonald


20th Annual Coors Light Montana 200 Starting Positions 1-18

1)      Gary Lewis

2)      Shane Mitchell

3)      Mike Longton

4)      Alex Lessor

5)      Jeff Jefferson

6)      Jason Fraser

7)      Eric Schmidt

8)      Mark Owens

9)      Trevor Emond

10)   Chris Hart

11)   Ronnie Hults

12)   Brian Levant

13)   Bodie Morton

14)   Wrango West

15)   John Nesmith

16)   Cory Wolfe

17)   Erick Hargraves

18)   David Garber


Qualifying Results

Mike Longton - 12.983

Eric Schmidt - 13.039

Alex Lessor - 13.049

Shane Mitchell - 13.064

Jeff Jefferson - 13.069

Gary Lewis - 13.082

Ronnie Hults - 13.093

Mark Owens - 13.097

Jason Fraser - 13.102

Chris Hart - 13.104

Brian Levant - 13.113

Trevor Emond 13/138

Bodie Morton - 13.150

John Nesmith - 13.163

Wrango West - 13.196

Erick Hargraves - 13.200

Chris Skelton - 13.202

Cory Wolfe - 13.211

Troy Schweigert - 13.219

Billy Salmonsen - 13.220

Greg Vangool - 13.225

Jay Sauls - 13.233

Dan Obrist - 13.238

Jared Vorse - 13.243

David Garber - 13.248

Blake Williams - 13.253

Tim Elliott - 13.255

Dan Garber - 13.272

Mike Obrist - 13.272

Ryan Wells - 13.299

Kelly Mann - 13.302

Agni Howell - 13.302

Mark Sunberg - 13.322

Jim White - 13.386

Joey Tanner - 13.401

Kevin Richards - 13.414

Brent Harris - 13.481

Chuck Dills - 13.514

Grant Brown - 13.535

Greg Funk - 13.545

Braeden Havens - 13.678

Amanda MacDonald - 17.776


Westward Bound Construction/Keller-Williams Realty Legends Series

Tim Corbett

Dave Daughtry

Jake Grossweiler

Giles Thornton

Scott Moore

Dylan Walker

Jake Bisset

Dalton Halden

Devin Clayton

Hal Rogers

Tyler Corpron

Joey Bisset

Josh Timmons

Michael Karper

David Cannon

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.





Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801