Keeping Pace

Young Scores Back-To-Back Bomber Wins At Montana Raceway Park

MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)
MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)

Jason Young continued his winning ways in the Montana Raceway Park Bomber division with his fourth win in five starts dating back to last season.

Courtesy: Montana Raceway Park Media Relations

KALISPELL, Mont. (June 5, 2010)-Defending Flathead Beacon Bomber champion Jason Young earned his fourth main event victory in his last five starts dating back to last season as he used a late race pass to get by Cory Reum for the checkered flag.


Young also scored a fast time award and finished third in the Heat Race for a dominant performance in front of a packed grandstand at Montana Raceway Park on CHS/Little Caesars Night at the Races.


Smilin’ Matt Gollehon finished third with “Two Barrel” Bill McCallum and Ray Young rounding out the top-5.


Bill Mitchell blazed to a fast time award in the Flathead Beacon Crusin’ Compact division and backed up the speed title with a win in the main event over hard-charging Ernie Calum.


Marvin Stone, Nancy Davis and Kathie Colangelo completed the top-5 running order.


In a spirited battle for the Hobby Stock main event, old rivals Ed Lynn and Dave Oldham battled lap after lap before Oldham lost the handle on his car entering turn No. 3 and fell back to sixth place opening the door for Dustin and Brandon Martel to sweep by for second and third place respectively. Jerry Schmuck and Mike Maechtly grabbed fourth and fifth place at the checkers.


Justin Greskowiak worked throughout the day to dial in his MRP Hornet and ran through the field from his 11th place starting position to earn the victory over Tyler Volkman and Kyle Basler. While Greskowiak drove the wheels off his car for the win, the drive of the night belonged to Basler who recovered from a spin under green as he was running second to rebound for the top-3 finish.


Kirk Heneffer picked up a win in the Super Stock Trophy Dash and earned a 30-lap main event victory over Dan Morris in the night’s final main event. Defending champion Jason Robinson bounced back from rear-end trouble in the season’s first race to finish third with Rookie of the Year contender Brandon Sickler fourth and Chuck Swope rounding out the top-5.


“We had a good car tonight and I have to thank my crew,” Heneffer said in victory circle. “From the spindles to the suspension we did a lot of work to get this car ready for tonight and I have to thank them for making it happen.”


Racing resumes at Montana Raceway Park on June 12 as Napa, Kokanee and Super Seal present the ARCA West Ignite Racing Fuels Super Late Model Series Battle of the Borders 150, the Westward Bound Construction/Keller Williams Realty Legends Series, Bandoleros and the Thunder Roadsters. To learn more call (406) 257- RACE (7223), log onto or text MTRACE to 91011.


Main Event Unofficial Results

Flathead Beacon Crusin’ Compacts

Bill Mitchell

Ernie Calum

Marvin Stone

Nancy Davis

Kathy Colangelo

Danella White


MRP Hornets

Justin Greskowiak

Tyler Volkman

Kyle Basler

Ryan Krause

Troy Pilgram

Dennis Gallaway

Rebecca Clark

Jamie Nimmick

Jessica Berglund

Keith Sheppard

Kendra Bicknell


Flathead Beacon Bombers

Jason Young

Cory Reum

Matt Gollehon

Bill McCallum

Ray Young

Josh Norris

Jimmy Worsham

Dave Berglund

Chris Warburton


MRP Hobby Stocks

Ed Lynn

Dustin Martel

Brandon Martel

Jerry Schmuck

Mike Maechtly

Dave Oldham

Josh Davis


MRP Super Stocks

Kirk Heneffer

Dan Morris

Jason Robinson

Brandon Sickler

Chuck Swope

Tyler Schweigert

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile