Advertise Here

Keeping Pace

Behind the badge fundrasier part of ERP race night festivites

As a part of the Behind the Badge Organization awareness efforts, Ephrata Raceway Park hosted a series of Cops versus Cops Trophy Dash races. Behind the Badge is the group that assists families of fallen Law Enforcement Officers.


(Ephrata, WA) 6/5/10 by Kelly Hart


As a part of the Behind the Badge Organization awareness efforts, Ephrata Raceway Park hosted a series of Cops versus Cops Trophy Dash races. Behind the Badge is the group that assists families of fallen Law Enforcement Officers. The drivers of the cars were officers from all over Grant County. Also on the schedule were the Pepsi Cola Street Stocks, Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stocks, Ephrata Pioneer Muffler 2 Pure Stocks and Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornets. The cops drove cars from the Jerry’s Auto Supply BIG CARS.


Twelve law enforcement officers competed in 4 Trophy Dashes with the final dash comprising the evenings Dash winners in one last competition. Paul Harder with the Moses Lake Police Department, Josh Sainsbury of the Grant County Sheriff’s Office, Dustin Canfield of the Grant County Sheriff’s Office, and Tod Hufman from the Ephrata Police Department won the 4 qualifying Trophy Dashes before competing in the final winner take all heat race. The winner was Tod Hufman. Ephrata Raceway Park wishes to thank the officers and the Behind the Badge Organization along with Dave Heaverlo of KBSN-AM radio for their help with this great event.


In weekly point racing action the Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornets saw the first rollover of the season when Isaac Villareal went tumbling over 3 times in the third turn. Villareal wound up on his roof and the car was towed off. Tayler Blackburn had a great night, with three wins, his Trophy Dash, Heat Race and the 15 lap Main Event. Kelly Olsick won the other Trophy Dash.


It was a 4-cylinder kind of night as the Ephrata Pioneer Muffler 2 Pure Stock division Main Event winner was also the second place driver in the Mini Stock Main. Bart Hector, Jr. crossed the line at the 15 minute mark of the 15-lap or 15 minute Main Event. At the finish line, Hector’s motor expired bringing out the red flag. Hector led Brad Arneson and Jake McGraw across the line at the finish with all cars stopping at the end of the front straightaway as the red flag came out. McGraw grabbed his fire extinguisher and put out the budding fire underneath Hector’s car. Trophy Dash winners were Michael White and Derrick Kapalo. Kapalo won the Heat Race.


The Shaeffer’s Oil Mini Stock race was won by Sid White. White held off a hard charging Bart Hector, Jr. for the win. Trophy Dash wins went to Doug Brown and White. Sean Myers won the Heat Race.


For the five Pepsi Cola Street Stocks the night saw everyone contend for a win. Terry Osborn won the Trophy Dash, Skyler Leseman won the Heat Race and Jason Ray captured the main event after race leader Mitch Kleyn blew his third motor of the year shortly after taking the lead of the feature.


Saturday night June 12th will be AMP Energy Drink Sage N Sun Night at Ephrata Raceway Park with the Washington Midget Racing Association, 7-UP 360 Sprint Cars, West Coast Vintage Racers, Golden Wheels and Kim Janke State Farm Agent Youth Hornets in action. Also featured will be a BIG CAR rollover competition! Gates open at 5pm with racing to follow at 7pm. More details are on the website, .




RESULTS 6/5/10



B DASH: 72 Kelly Olsick, 29x Shawn Mandeville, 4 Issac Villareal

A DASH: 8 Tayler Blackburn, 99 Tyler Redin, 44 Colton Fisher, 00 Dylan Adamson

HEAT: 8 Blackburn, 72 Olsick, 99 Redin, 44 Fisher, 29x Mandeville

MAIN: 8 Tyler Blackburn, 44 Fisher, 72 Olsick, 99 Redin, 29x Mandeville, 32 Chase Kirk, 20 Mykkal Mulalley



B DASH: 9 Michael White, 62 Jeremy Larsen

A DASH: 37 Derrick Kapalo, 09 Dallas White, 8 Brad Arneson, 68 Bart Hector, Jr.

HEAT: 37 Kapalo, 68 Hector, Jr., 09 D. White, 8 Arneson, 28 Jake McGraw

MAIN: 68 Bart Hector, Jr., 8 Arneson, 28 J. McGraw, 62 Larsen, 32 Terry McGraw, 09 D. White, 37 Kapalo, 20 Mike Mulalley, 63 Nathan Schell



B DASH: 84 Doug Brown, 19 Eddie Razey, 44 Sean Myers, 50 Tim Clark

A DASH: 1 Sid White, 68 Bart Hector, Jr., 52 David Macken, 18 Jeremy Razey

HEAT: 44 Myers, 18 J. Razey, 68 Hector, Jr., 1 S. White, 52 Macken

MAIN: 1 Sid White, 68 Hector, Jr., 18 J. Razey, 52 Macken, 19 E. Razey, 50 Clark, 84 Brown, 44 Myers



DASH: 46 Terry Osborn, 21 Skyler Leseman, 18x Jason Ray, 12 Rick Bretches

HEAT: 21 Leseman, 1 Mitch Kleyn, 18x Ray, 46 Osborn, 12 Bretches

MAIN: 18x Jason Ray, 46 Osborn, 21 Leseman, 12 Bretches, 1 Kleyn



DASH: Paul Harder, Moses Lake Police Department

DASH: Josh Sainsbury, Grant County Sheriff’s Office

DASH: Dustin Canfield, Grant County Sheriff’s Office

DASH: Tod Hufman, Ephrata Police Department

FINAL: Tod Hufman, Ephrata Police Department

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Keeping Pace.


Doug Pace

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here