Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Rocky Mountain Challenge Series Heads To Meridian Speedway For First Stop of 2010

RMCS logo. (Courtesy D. Shannon)
RMCS logo. (Courtesy D. Shannon)

The Rocky Mountain Challenge Series heads into Meridian Speedway for the first of two appearances on the 2010 schedule. John Dillon is the series' most recent winner with Steve Jones riding the top of the drivers points standings.

Courtesy: D. Shannon/RMCS Media Relations

BOISE, IDAHO (June 25, 2010) The CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series will make
the first of two visits this season to the historic Meridian (ID) Speedway Saturday
night for NAPA Auto Parts Treasure Valley "100" in round five of the
10-race 2010 series. The series known for its 20-car invert will stage the 8th
series event at the quarter-third mile paved oval that has seen seven different
series winners in seven previous races. 

John Dillon of Eagle leads the series into Meridian after dominating the action two
weeks ago at Magic Valley Speedway where he made his first start of the season in
style setting fast time and coming from the tail of the field to score the victory
in a race that went caution free. "Meridian is where I started my career and I
would love to win in this series at Meridian, " Dillon said.

Current point leader Steve Jones of Meridian is looking to get back into
championship form after a 7th place performance allowed the field to close the gap
on his point lead. "I was real disappointed about the result at Magic
Valley," Jones said. "I spent a lot of time on the phone talking with Mike
Leary (his shock and chassis chief) and I am feeling really good about our chances
on Saturday night. I think the new banking and surface will help the racing at
Meridian but we are going to have to have some luck."

David Minegar of Boise holds the Sharp Powder Coating track qualifying record at
Meridian Speedway with a quick lap of 13.520 seconds/66.568 mph. That record may
fall this weekend with the new track surface. "I have tested really well here
and I look forward to the race," Minegar said. "I am really excited to
have all the guys from BodyBuilding.Com at the races this weekend. They have been
with me for ten years and I could not be more proud to represent such a great

Race winner's at Meridian Speedway include second generation ace Craig Bell (09),
Jeff Jefferson (09), Tyler Monroe (06), Tom Hill (06), Chad Cannon (06), Zan Sharp
(05), and Dave Minegar who won the first series event back in 2005.

Tom Hill of Boise was a regular on the series for the first five season's and will
be making his 49th career start on Saturday night. Hill has 32 top ten finishes and
won the longest race contested at Meridian Speedway (125-laps) in 2006.

Craig Bell has the most top five finishes at MS with five followed by two-time
champion Zan Sharp, Minegar, Chad Cannon, and Jeff Jefferson all with two apiece.
Local racing hotshoe John Nesmith has three third place performances in RMCS action
at Meridian.

Several locals are expected to compete on Saturday including Dylan Caldwell, Dan
Lowther, Jeremy Fuss, and John Nesmith.

No driver in the current top ten in the point standings has a top five finish at
Meridian Speedway except for Dave Minegar. Track experience, luck, and a fast race
car is going to make all the difference Saturday night.

Steve Jones leads John Newhouse by 54-points in the standings but that will change
as Newhouse is expected to miss the race as he is only running a partial schedule in
order to support his daughter's racing efforts this season. Lynn Hardy and Brett
Thompson are tied for third with Dave Minegar holding down the fifth spot. Long-tow
road warrior Thane Alderman from Las Vegas, NV is sixth in the standings followed by
Bruce Quale, Russell Butler, Eric Rhead (A-1 Rookie point leader), and Joe Miller.

A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning sponsors the Rookie-of-the-Year program which
will pay $100 to the top finishing rookie in each event. After four races, Eric
Rhead leads Lonnie Lowder and Kenny Vanderham for top rookie honors.

Sharp Powder Coating sponsors the fast time award worth $100 for driver who sets
fast time in each RMCS event plus $100 to a random driver in the field. Through four
races there have been four different fast time award winners. The ESI Lap Leader
Bonus Award worth $5 per lap and has Eric Rhead out front followed by Steve Jones,
Bruce Quale, Brett Thompson, and John Dillon.

Century Boatland located in Twin Falls is a new sponsor this season to the RMCS
providing a significant contribution to this season ending point's fund. Longacre
Racing Products, Joes Racing Products, and Circle Wheels all have product deals in
place awarded to random finishers in each event this season.

The RMCS utilizes a racing format not found in ANY other regional touring series
around the country. The top 20 qualifiers are inverted for every race putting fast
time in the 20th starting position. This format ensures race fans see what they paid
for and that is passing. Each driver is awarded three points per position gained in
the event. Points are also awarded for qualifying and heat race finishes. Through
the history of the series, the winning driver has averaged a 15th place starting
position. To ensure competition, the RMCS pays it purse based on total point
accumulation for the event and provides several special performance awards for each

The CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series is a regional touring series that allows
all competitors to race and gain experience on different types of racetracks. It is
a high-quality professional racing series that offers maximum opportunity at an
affordable price serving the intermountain West. The motto of the series is to
“Race Hard and Have Fun!” For all the latest news and information
regarding the CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series log on to our website at
MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "" claiming
to be or follow all the racing action from around the west at
MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "" claiming
to be

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.