Keeping Pace

Carey, Kronenberg, Halden, Lee & Grobmair Claim Legends Thunder Victories

MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)
MRP logo. (courtesy of Montana Raceway Park)

Five INEX winners crowned in ninth annual summer event held in Kalispell, Mont. Valleyford, Wash. high school junior, Jake Bisset, was the highest local finisher with a third place run in the Legend Pro division.

Courtesy: Montana Raceway Park Media Relations

KALISPELL, Mont. (June 26, 2010)-Five main event winners were crowned for the 9th Annual Legends Thunder INEX Regional Qualifier at Montana Raceway Park on Saturday as Nick Carey and Bob Kronenberg returned to victory circle joined by Scott Lee, Dalton Halden and Val Grobmair. The weekend was sponsored by Coors Light, City Service Valcon, Hilton Garden Inn, Westward Bound Construction and Keller-Williams Realty with a capacity crowd in attendance for the ninth running of the INEX-only weekend at MRP.


Racing action in all five main events was wheel-to-wheel with Brock Denney making only his third Bandoleros start of his career and the youngster held off veteran Tristan Corpron for second place as the pair chased race winner Halden throughout the night. Halden moved by both drivers in the early going and set a torrid pace to the checkered flag.


Thunder Roadster points leader Scott Lee and his closest competitor, Zach Havens, were up for the challenge one more time as Havens recovered from a fifth place restart position on an early green flag restart to chase Lee's race leading Roadster down and go toe-toe- for the checkered flag. With Havens sliding sideways out of turn No. 4 Lee powered up his Yamaha motor and scooted to the win with Havens and John Logan in tow.


In Legend Semi-Pro action, the youngest qualifier in the history of Legends Thunder, Giles Thornton, set a smooth pace for the race's first 48 laps but contact from behind sent the seventh grader around, Cameron Cotta who had been running second to the back and Val Grobmair to the lead with two laps left in the 50-lap main. Thornton damaged an oil pan in the process and fell back to ninth place at the stripe.


Grobmair used his good fortune to its advantage as he held off a hard charging Aaron Stowe and Brent Mack for the victory.


When the dust cleared from what had been a relatively smooth Masters main event, Bob Kronenberg took home a first place check and trophy after the initial winner had been disqualified for a weight violation. Randy Schaaf came home in second with Ron Custer nabbing third.


Nick Carey retuned to Legends Thunder and picked up right where he left off with another Pro victory. The Snohomish, Wash. native heads to Charlotte Motor Speedway for a run at a $250,000 payday for a winning Legend driver in the track's ultimate showdown for INEX drivers, but before leaving was thrilled with his late race battle with second place Aaron Friend and high school junior, Jake Bisset.


"We had a great car here tonight and we're off the Legend Million at Charlotte with a nice Montana send-off," Carey told the crowd. "I love coming out here and we took a year off of this race but oh man it's great to come back here with a win."


Racing continues Saturday, July 3 with the second of three stops in 2010 at MRP for the ARCA West Ignite Late Model Series and the Kalispell Toyota Tundra Firecracker 125. Also racing will be the Canadian Baby Grands, the Flathead Beacon Crusin' Compacts, the Hornets and the Flathead Beacon Bombers. For tickets and other information call (406) 257- RACE (7223), log onto or text MTRACE to 91011.


Unofficial Results


Dalton Halden

Brock Denney

Tristan Corpron

Todd Holleman


Thunder Roadsters

Scott Lee

Zach Havens

John Logan

Josh Levitt

Dave Daughtry


Legend Semi-Pro

Val Grobmair

Aaron Stowe

Brent Mack

Hal Rogers

Dylan Walker

Mathew Priest

Dalton Halden

David Cannon

Giles Thornton

Orion Hutchlin

Michael Karper

Devin Clayton

DQ- Cameron Cotta

DQ- Josh Timmons


Legend Masters

Bob Kronenberg

Randy Schaaf

Ron Custer

Leroy Brush

DQ- Tim Corbett

DQ- Duane Swanson

DQ- Dave Daughtry


Legend Pro

Nick Carey

Aaron Freind

Jake Bisset

Wrango West

Rowan Carey

Dylan Albiani

Jody Archer

Scott Moore

Tyler Corpron

Jim Landon

Joe Bisset

DNS- Josh Gross

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.




Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801