Arrow-right Camera

Keeping Pace

Tue., June 29, 2010, 5:48 p.m.


ERP logo. (Courtesy ERP)
ERP logo. (Courtesy ERP)

Bart Hector Sr. scores an emotional win on the high-banked quarter mile just north of Moses Lake, Wash.

(Ephrata, WA) 6/26/10  by Kelly Hart
By virtue of winning two of the 5 feature Main Events at Ephrata Raceway Park Saturday night Bart Hector, Sr. came away the big winner on a beautiful, warm, full moon race evening. Running the same car in two classes, Bart Hector, Sr. pulled off a rare feat of winning the Super Stock and Pepsi Cola Street Stock Main Event wins on the same night. Other Main Event winners were Derrick Kapalo in the Pioneer Muffler 2 Pure Stocks, Doug Brown in the Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stocks and Doug Wilkinson in the NW Pro 4 Trucks.
After Chris Walters set fast time for the Super Stocks at 15.159, the rest of the night’s events belonged to Bart Hector, Sr. as he won the Trophy Dash, Heat race and Main Event. In tribute to his late son Daniel Hector, Bart was driving Daniel’s car for the evening, which had not raced since his passing last year at this time. An emotional night for the family and the race track. After picking up the lead for the first four laps of the Main Hector briefly was passed by Chris Walters, only to get the lead back the following lap and cruise to the win. Todd Walters and David Macken rounded out the top three, with Chris Walters and Robert Kirk unable to finish with mechanical woes.
In the Pepsi Cola Street Stock division, Bart Hector, Sr. set fast time with a 15.550 lap. The Trophy Dash wins were collected by Rick Bretches and Hector, Sr. who also won the Heat race. In winning the Street Stock Main Event, Hector, Sr. led all 20 laps for the win and the clean sweep of the night. The Street Stock Main started off with Terry Osborn and Kyle Childress coming out of turn four and Osborn with nowhere to go hitting the front stretch wall hard tearing up the right front corner of the car. Osborn was done for the night with his car towed back to the pits.
Derrick Kapalo continues to turn in stellar performances in the Ephrata Pioneer Muffler 2 Pure Stocks. For Kapalo it was fast time of 17.636 as well as wins in the A Trophy Dash, A Heat Race and Main Event for the second clean sweep of the night. Jake McGraw also had a decent Pure Stock night with wins in the B Trophy Dash and B Heat Race.
The Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stock division welcomes a wider number of winners. Fast time went to Bart Hector, Jr. with a 16.520. Trophy Dash and Heat Race winners were Jeremy Razey and Sid White with one of each. In the Main Event three different cars led laps. Eddy Razey fired the first salvo leading the opening 8 laps of the race, with Bart Hector, Jr. leading for one lap before a yellow changed his position. Jeremy Razey then picked up the top spot for the tenth through 15th lap when his motor went up in a cloud of billowing white smoke down the front straightaway and a trail of oil in the high outside groove. On the restart Doug Brown wasted no time taking over the top spot and holding the win for the final 5 laps to claim the 20-lap feature win.
Visiting Ephrata Raceway Park for the first time in 2010 was the NW Pro-4 Trucks. Jim Milligan set fast time of 15.664 to pace the field. The eight trucks all timed in within one second setting the stage for close and fast racing all night long. Winning Trophy Dashes were Ty Tipps and Doug Wilkinson. Defending class champion Mike Wiley was the Heat Race winner. The Main Event featured five trucks racing side by side and nose to tail in NW Pro 4 Truck fashion that fans at ERP are used to seeing. Bobby Baker paced the field for the first two laps before Wilkinson squeezed past and set sail. Baker was chased by Wiley, Jeff Hector, Milligan and Richard Shaver for most of the remaining 27 laps but never gave up the top spot. Two yellow flags slowed the field briefly. Tipps spun in the back straightaway on lap 21. And Jeff Hector got the worse end of the deal with another truck coming out of turn 4 in close racing to spin at the beginning of the front stretch.
Next on the schedule for Ephrata Raceway Park is the Eve of Destruction featuring the world famous stunts of Mr. Dizzy. Mr. Dizzy plans three stunts during the night with plenty of car jumping, explosions and stunt thrills for the entire crowd. Also, following the nights racing will a spectacular fireworks show. Racing on Saturday July 3rd features the Super Stocks, Pepsi Cola Street Stocks, Kim Janke State Farm Youth Hornets and the BIG CARS along with Mr. Dizzy stunts and the Fireworks Extravaganza. What a show! Gates open at 5pm with racing after opening ceremonies at 7pm.
RESULTS 6/26/10
Super Stocks
Fast time: 5 Chris Walters 15.159
Trophy Dash: 82 Bart Hector, Sr., 7 David Macken, 5 C. Walters, 77 Robert Kirk, 4 Todd Walters
Heat: 82 Hector, Sr., 4 T. Walters, 5 C. Walters, 77 Kirk, 7 Macken
Main: 82 Bart Hector, Sr., 4 T. Walters, 7 Macken, 5 C. Walters, 77 Kirk
Lap leaders: 82 Hector, Sr 1-10, 5 C. Walters 11, 82 Hector, Sr 12-20
Pepsi Cola Street Stocks
Fast time: 82 Bart Hector, Sr. 15.550
B Dash: 12 Rick Bretches, 83 Patrick Lyons, 66 Kyle Childress
A Dash: 82 Hector, Sr., 46 Terry Osborn, 21 Skyler Leseman, 18x Jason Ray
Heat: 82 Hector, Sr., 46 Osborn, 21 Leseman, 12 Bretches, 18x Ray
Main: 82 Bart Hector, Sr., 21 Leseman, 12 Bretches, 18x Ray, 66 Childress, 46 Osborn, 83 Lyons
Lap leaders: 82 Hector, Sr. 1-20
Ephrata Pioneer Muffler 2 Pure Stocks
Fast time: 37 Derrick Kapalo 17.636
B Dash: 28 Jake McGraw, 63 Nathan Schell, 25 Terry Collins, 32 Terry McGraw, 8 Brad Arneson
A Dash: 37 Kapalo, 44 Charlie Larr, 09 Dallas White, 20 Mike Mulalley, 62 Jeremy Larsen
B Heat: 28 J. McGraw, 8 Arneson, 63 Schell, 25 Collins, 32 T. McGraw
A Heat: 37 Kapalo, 09 White, 44 Larr, 20 Mulalley
Main: 37 Derrick Kapalo, 09 White, 44 Larr, 32 T. McGraw, 28 J. McGraw, 8 Arneson, 63 Schell, 25 Collins, 20 Mulally, 62 Larsen
Lap leaders: 28 J. McGraw 1-2, 37 Kapalo 3-15
Schaeffer’s Oil Mini Stocks
Fast time: 68 Bart Hector, Jr. 16.520
B Dash: 18 Jeremy Razey, 18x Allen Dixon, 19 Eddy Razey, 07 Rod Whited
A Dash: 1 Sid White, 68 Hector, Jr., 84 Doug Brown, 44 Sean Myers
B Heat: 18 J. Razey, 18x Dixon, 07 Whited
A Heat: 1 White, 84 Brown, 68 Hector, Jr., 44 Myers, 19 E. Razey
Main: 84 Doug Brown, 19 E. Razey, 68 Hector, Jr., 18x Dixon, 1 White, 50 Tim Clark, 8 Ken Gray, 07 Whited, 18 J. Razey, 44 Myers
Lap leaders: 19 E. Razey 1-8, Hector, Jr 9, 18 J. Razey 10-14. 84 Brown 15-20
NW Pro 4 Trucks
Fast time: 02 Jim Milligan 15.664
B dash: 9 Ty Tipps, 85 Richard Shaver, 78 Bobby Baker, 2 Ken Milligan
A dash: 58 Doug Wilkinson, 02 J. Milligan, 17 Mike Wiley, 88 Jeff Hector
Heat: 17 Wiley, 58 Wilkinson, 02 J. Milligan, 88 Hector, 85 Shaver
Main: 58 Doug Wilkinson, 17 Wiley, 88 Hector, 78 Baker, 02 J. Milligan, 9 Tipps, 2 K Milligan, 85 Shaver
Lap leaders: 78 Baker 1-2, 58 Wilkinson 3-30

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.