Keeping Pace

Williams Captures INSSA Super Late Model Win; McKeehan Earns INSSA Title

Blake Williams (center) earned the victory on Sept. 11, 2010 on the Inland Northwest Super Stock Association over Kameron McKeehan (left) and Cameron Kellogg (right). McKeehan was crowned the 2010 series champion.
Blake Williams (center) earned the victory on Sept. 11, 2010 on the Inland Northwest Super Stock Association over Kameron McKeehan (left) and Cameron Kellogg (right). McKeehan was crowned the 2010 series champion.

Blake Williams became the youngest race winner in the history of the Inland Northwest Super Stock Association as he bested Kameron McKeehan and Cameron Kellogg at Stateline Speedway. McKeehan's runner-up finish earned him the 2010 INSSA championship over Amanda MacDonald and Braeden Havens.

Courtesy: INSSA Media Relations

On a chilly fall evening, the best seat in the house was definitely in Blake Williams car.  The 15-year old played a perfect hand and came home with his first INSSA Super Late Model feature main event win.  In only his third start of the season, Williams showed he’s definitely got the talent to make his mark in the northwest. 

Kit VanBuskirk and Colton Garber led the 19 car field to the green flag.  VanBuskirk took the early lead while Garber settled in behind him.  Rob Reinbold grabbed the third spot, with Williams on his way through the field.  The first caution flew on lap 13, when Ross Cooper bounced off the front stretch wall, and in doing so, broke his rear-end.  After extensive clean-up for the gear oil, the pace was set for the first cone restart.   VanBuskirk inside, with Colton Garber outside paced the field.  VanBuskirk would take the lead, bringing Reinbold to second, as Garber was engulfed in a cloud of dust from the Cooper cleanup, and fell back a few spots.  A few short laps later, another oil-down in the first corner, another lengthy cleanup, and set to go again.  When the green flew again, VanBuskirk spun his tires and Williams got into the back of him.  When the dust finally settled from the melee, VanBuskirk, Colton Garber, Dan Garber and Jeff Fenton were in the pits for the night. 

Taking over the lead on lap 18, Williams never looked back.  Amanda MacDonald and Kameron McKeehan waged their own battle for second and third, while trying to keep Williams in sight.    The final caution came out on lap 72, when Rookie of the Year contender Braeden Havens blew a power steering line.  With the car still running, Havens continued on the track, not realizing he was losing fluid.  While the by-now-worn-out track crew was cleaning up, Havens made a quick trip to the pits to remove the belt, and was back out without missing a beat, only his power steering.

Williams opted for the high groove to start the final 28 laps, leaving the lapped car of Jeff Little on the low side, and MacDonald and McKeehan in the second row.    Williams took off, while MacDonald and McKeehan continued their heated battle.  With a hard fought campaign, McKeehan persevered and took the second spot.  While MacDonald had a tire issue, Chris Kellogg also managed to sneak by for the third position en route to the checkered flag.  MacDonald finished fourth, with Little rounding out the top 5.

With the absence of 3-time Champion, Dave Garber, Kameron McKeehan grabbed the point’s lead and ran with it.  In doing so, and while increasing his lead over MacDonald, earned his position in the history books and was crowned the 2010 INSSA Super Late Model Season Champion.  Amanda MacDonald, Braeden Havens, Jeff Fenton took the next three positions, with Garber falling back to fifth.  By virtue of being the highest point’s finishing rookie driver, Braeden Havens earned the distinction of 2010 INSSA Super Late Model Rookie of the Year.

INSSA Late Model Series                       

2010 Points FINAL                                      

 Car# Driver TOTAL

1 72  Kameron McKeehan 623

2 76  Amanda MacDonald 590

3 83  Braeden Havens 579

4 86  Jeff Fenton 556

5 93  Dave Garber 526

6 95  Dan Garber/Akers 518

7 20  Todd Havens 462

8 44  Jeff Little 450

9 28  Ross Cooper 432

10 22 Dan Yonke 430

11 29 Jason O'Neal 426

12 16 Blake Williams 381

13 18 Kit VanBuskirk/Behar 378

14 15 Chris Kellogg 348

15 3  Casy Akers 296

16 6  Rob Reinbold 201

17 45 Steve Parrish 130

18 14 Kevin Richards 129

19 7  Jessie Taylor 118

20 88 Rusty Webb 107

21 17 Ryen Tarr 106

22 80 Travis Allen 92

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile