Keeping Pace

Jonathon Gomez Scores First RMCS Victory While Jones Takes First RMCS Title

Jonathon Gomez en route to his first career victory on the Rocky Mountain Challenge Series. (Photo courtesy of Derrick Shannon)
Jonathon Gomez en route to his first career victory on the Rocky Mountain Challenge Series. (Photo courtesy of Derrick Shannon)

Jonathon Gomez picked up his first career victory on the Rocky Mountain Challenge Series. The win came at his hometrack Magic Valley Speedway in Tiwn Falls, Idaho. Steve Jones capped a solid season with his first career RMCS championship.

Courtesy: RMCS Media Relations

TWIN FALLS, IDAHO (September 18, 2010) Jonathon Gomez of Twin Falls continued his hot streak in late model racing and scored his first career CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series victory Saturday night at Magic Valley Speedway in front of an enthusiastic crowd. While Gomez celebrated the long awaited RMCS victory, the night belonged to Steve Jones of Meridian, Idaho, as the long-time MVS competitor finished second in the race and claimed his first RMCS title to cap a thrilling 2010 campaign.

Gomez also scored his fourth Sharp Powder Coating Fast Time Award to lead all qualifiers for the 100-lap contest. Jones qualified second quick and would have to start at the tail of the field as is customary in the RMCS. Championship rival John Newhouse, also of Twin Falls, only managed the eighth best qualifying effort giving up several points to Jones' point lead before the race even began.

Following Gomez and Jones to the finish line were fellow Twin Falls residents, Bruce Quale in third, Bobby Latham III in fourth, and John Newhouse rounding out the top five. Craig Bell finished sixth followed by Dan Buckley, Dan Pehrson, Rick Fowble, and A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning Rookie-of-the-Year winner Eric Rhead rounding out the top ten.

The RMCS concluded a very successful schedule despite the difficult economy in 2010. This season more than 46 competitors earned points in the series which saw five first time winners and eight different winners in ten events. There were also eight different Sharp Powder Coating Fast Time Award winners this season The winning driver in each event averaged a 13th place starting position and on average seven of the top ten finishers started outside the top ten in the race.

The CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series is a regional touring series that allows all competitors to race and gain experience on different types of racetracks. It is a high-quality professional racing series that offers maximum opportunity at an affordable price serving the intermountain West. The motto of the series is to “Race Hard and Have Fun!” For all the latest news and information regarding the CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series log onto Follow all the racing action from throughout the West by logging onto

CarbonX Rocky Mountain Challenge Series Results
AMS 100
Magic Valley Speedway, Twin Falls, Idaho
September 18, 2010

1. Jonathon Gomez
2. Steve Jones
3. Bruce Quale
4. Bobby Latham III
5. John Newhouse
6. Craig Bell
7. Dan Buckley
8. Dan Pehrson
9. Rick Fowble
10. Eric Rhead
11. John Wong
12. Joe Miller
13. Travis Monett
14. Chris Schrade
15. Lonnie Lowder
16. Thane Alderman
17. Lynn Hardy

Final 2010 Point Standings Top 10

1. Steve Jones 1695
2. John Newhouse 1617
3. Bruce Quale 1511
4. Lynn Hardy 1413
5. Eric Rhead 1288
6. Thane Alderman 1253
7. Brett Thompson 1167
8. Dave Minegar 1108
9. Joe Miller 874
10. Lonnie Lowder 832

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Keeping Pace
Keeping Pace

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile