Advertise Here

Keeping Pace

Posts tagged: Spencer Massey

Massey aims for Mile High victory as the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series begins its Western Swing

Spencer Massey, who is currently third in the season points standings, hopes to score another victory at the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals, July 19-21 at Bandimere Speedway, located 10 miles west of downtown Denver.

Hagan, Massey, Edwards and Arana Jr. claim NHRA wins at zMAX Dragway

Matt Hagan powered his Magneti Marelli/Rocky Boots Dodge Charger to the final round win over fellow Virginian Blake Alexander, veteran driver Tim Wilkerson, and rookie Chad Head to take his sixth career victory.

Johnson locks up top spot in NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series Pro Stock qualifying

Allen Johnson powered his Team Mopar Dodge Avenger to a performance of 6.951 seconds at 198.29 mph to take the 25th No. 1 qualifying effort of his career and fourth at the Denver track. Spencer Massey, Jack Beckman and Hector Arana Jr. also will lead their respective categories into Sunday’s eliminations at the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series event being held in Morrison, Colorado.

Massey, Arana Jr., Johnson, Beckman lead NHRA qualifying in Colorado

Spencer Massey, the current points leader in Top Fuel, was able to post a run of 3.914 seconds at 318.02 mph in his FRAM / Prestone dragster to move to the top of the qualifying order. He is riding a wave of success coming off of the most recent event in Norwalk where he defeated Steve Torrence in the finals for his fourth win of the season. He is the defending race winner at Bandimere Speedway and led the category in both qualifying sessions.

Massey, Capps, Line and Krawiec lead Englishtown qualifying

Spencer Massey powered his FRAM/Prestone dragster to a time of 3.728 seconds at 329.91 mph to lead an extremely quick Top Fuel field. Morgan Lucas was second with a 3.739 at 324.51 in the GEICO/Lucas Oil dragster and Shawn Langdon powered his Al-Anabi Racing dragster to a 3.742 at 324.36.

Hight, Massey and Anderson claim zMAX wins

Auto Club Ford Mustang driver Robert Hight becomes just the fifth Funny Car racer to win four consecutive events in NHRA history, and joins the ranks of Don Prudhomme, Kenny Bernstein, his team owner John Force and Cruz Pedregon, who he defeated in the finals, to accomplish the feat. Hight used a reaction time of .058-second at the start of his 4.076 second pass at 314.83 mph to secure his 27th career win.

Massey rides record win, plans to continue run to championship

The Prestone/FRAM team qualified second in last weekend's NHRA season-opener and then recorded consistent times of 3.782, 3.776, 3.745 and 3.750 seconds during Sunday's elimination rounds. Massey needed the record run to get past DSR teammate Tony Schumacher in the semifinals and needed another stout run against teammate Antron Brown in the final.

Massey, Force, Anderson win O’Reilly Auto Parts Winternational titles

Spencer Massey, who finished second in the points standings last year, opened the new season in first place by outrunning Antron Brown in the final round to take his seventh career Top Fuel victory and first at Pomona. Massey posted a 3.750 at 325.77 in his FRAM/Prestone dragster to hold off Brown’s charging Matco Tools dragster, which trailed with a 3.794 at 320.43.

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

Motorsports correspondent Doug Pace keeps up with motorsports news and notes from around the region.

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Keeping Pace.


Doug Pace

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here