STATE LANDS -- Drivers have a new option for buying the $30 annual Discover Pass required for acces to all state parks and most state lands. The Department of Licensing is authorized to accept payment of the Discover Pass when renewing vehicle license tabs.
The pass is available for purchase by those with a vehicle registration expiration date on or after Oct. 1, 2011.
The Discover Pass was created by the 2011 Legislature. Since spring, the pass has been required, with some exceptions, for vehicles entering parks or recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, and the Washington State Department of Natural Resources.
Vehicle owners may purchase the pass at DOL vehicle licensing offices or when renewing tabs online.
Buyers of the pass through the DOL process receive their passes in the mail from WDFW within 10 business days of renewal and purchase.
Transaction and dealer fees ($5) are not charged for annual passes purchased directly from DOL. However, if you buy the pass from a hunting and fishing license vendor, the fees are charged.
The Discover Pass also can be purchased in person from nearly 600 vendors across the state, by telephone (866-320-9933) or online.
In addition, the Discover Pass can be purchased from state parks (for $30) when staff is available.