Advertise Here

Spin Control

Spokane Republicans pick new leaders

A stand-room-only crowd selected new leaders for the Spokane County Republican Party on Saturday.

Cindy Zapotocky was elected county chairwoman, and Dave Stevens vice chairman.

Curt Fackler, outgoing chairman, said the crowd was bigger than expected, and bigger than the county commissioners meeting room, which he’d booked for the biennial reorganization.

They held the meeting in the same spot two years ago and there was plenty of room, he said. But the jump in political participation resulted in the election of 203 precinct committee officers, and about 164 showed up on Saturday despite the weather, Fackler said.

The new blood also may be signalling a shift in the party…

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Spin Control

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

Jim Camden is a veteran political reporter for The Spokesman-Review.

Jonathan Brunt is an enterprise reporter for The Spokesman-Review.

Kip Hill is a general assignments reporter for The Spokesman-Review.

Nick Deshais covers Spokane City Hall for The Spokesman-Review.

Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on Spin Control.

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here