Arrow-right Camera

Spin Control

And Didier makes 12

OLYMPIA -- Clint Didier made it an even dozen in the U.S. Senate race Thursday afternoon.

The Central Washington farmer and football coach, and former NFL player, was one of four candidates filing for the seat held by Democrat Patty Murray, who is seeking her fourth term.

The three best-known and better financed Republicans -- Didier, Dino Rossi and Paul Akers -- all filed Thursday. So did Bob Burr of Bellingham, a Democrat who said he's unhappy with Murray's refusal to support publicly financed political campaigns.

For those keeping track at home, that makes 5 Democrats, 5 Republicans and 2 "No party preference" candidates.

Democrats are having fun with the fact that Rossi signed up for the 2008 ballot as "Prefers GOP Party" but lists "Republican Party" this year. Not sure it's something that will decide anyone's vote, though.

For a complete list of the names on the Spokane area ballots thus far, go inside the blog.

U.S Senate: Paul Akers, Republican; Charles Allen, Democratic; Bob Burr, Democratic; William Chovill, Republican; Clint Didier, Republican; Goodspaceguy, Democratic; Norma Gruber, Republican; Schalk Leonard, no party; James Mercer, no party; Mike the Mover, Democratic; Patty Murray, Democratic; Dino Rossi, Republican
U.S. House, 5th District: Clyde Cordero, Democratic; Barbara Lampert, Democratic; Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Republican; Randall Yearout, Constitution
3rd District House Pos. 1: Bob Apple, Democratic; Andy Billig, Democratic; Louise Chadez, Democratic
House Pos. 2: Timm Ormsby, Democratic; Morgan Oyler, GOP
4th District House Pos. 1: Larry Crouse, Republican
House Pos. 2
6th District Senate: Mike Baumgartner, Republican; Chris Marr, Democratic
House Pos. 1: Kevin Parker, Republican
House Pos. 2: John Ahern, Republican; Shelly O’Quinn, Republican
7th District Senate: Bob Morton, Republican
House Pos. 1: Shelly Short, Republican
House Pos. 2: Joel Kretz, Republican
9th District House Pos. 1: Susan Fagan, Republican
House Pos. 2: Joe Schmick
Spokane County
Commissioner District 3: Al French, GOP; Jeff Holy, Republican; Bonnie Mager, Democratic; Steve Salvatori, Republican
Assessor: Ralph Baker, Republican; Vicki Horton, Republican; Andrew Jackson, Democratic; Lori Wick, Independent
Auditor: Vicky Dalton, Democratic
Clerk: Thomas Fallquist, Republican
Prosecuting Attorney: Chris Bugbee, Republican; Frank Malone, Democratic; Jim Reierson, Law & Order; Dave Stevens, Republican, Steve Tucker, Republican
Sheriff: Ozzie Knezovich, Republican
Treasurer: Skip Chilberg. Democratic
State Supreme Court Pos. 1: Jim Johnson; Stan Rumbaugh
Pos. 5: Barbara Madsen
Pos. 6: Richard Sanders, Charlie Wiggins
Court of Appeals Dist. 3: Laurel Siddoway
District Court: Pos. 1 Vance Peterson; Pos. 2 Sara Derr; Pos. 3 John Cooney; Pos. 4 Patti Connolly Walker; Pos. 5 Gregory Tripp; Pos. 6 Debra Hayes; Pos. 7 Donna Wilson; Pos. 8 Richard White

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Spin Control

The Spokesman-Review's political team keeps a critical eye on local, state and national politics.