Arrow-right Camera

Spin Control

Day 5 Filing Week: A long ballot for Aug. 7

OLYMPIA – Washington’s primary ballot got longer and more interesting before elections offices closed for filing Friday afternoon.

Spokane-area ballots will have nine candidates for governor, eight for U.S. Senate, seven for secretary of state, six for lieutenant governor, five for a Spokane legislative seat, four for Eastern Washington’s 5th District congressional seats. No partridges or pear trees, though.

Many of the candidates for major offices are well-known, and have been campaigning for months. Some entering the field this week are perennial candidates who regularly file for something, but rarely make it past a primary. Mike the Mover, owner of a Seattle area moving company who legally changed his name to reflect his occupation, filed this year for Senate, as did Will Baker of Tacoma and Glen Stockwell, a Ritzville resident who has tried legislative campaigns in the past.

The Aug. 7 election is a Top 2 primary, which means the candidates with the most, and second most votes move on to the general, regardless of party. Candidates say which party the prefer, but that doesn’t signify party support, or even recognition.

That means some races in November could match two Democrats or two Republicans. It also means candidates are free to describe their party preference in creative ways, to make up parties, or say they have no party preference at all.

For a list of candidates appearing on Spokane-area ballots in the primary, and their stated party preference, go inside the blog.

U.S. Senate: Michael Baumgartner, Art Coday, Chuck Jackson, Mike the Mover, Glen (Stocky) R. Stockwell, Republican; Maria Cantwell, Timmy (Doc) Wilson, Democrat; Will Baker, Reform

U.S. Representative, 5th District: Rich Cowan, Democrat; Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Randall Yearout, Republican: Ian Moody, no party preference

Governor: Rob Hill, Jay Inslee, Democrat; Shahram Hadian, Javier O. Lopez, Rob McKenna, Max Sampson, Republican; L. Dale Sorgen, James White, Independent; Christian Joubert, no party preference

Lt. Governor: Brad Owen, Democrat; Bill Finkbeiner, Republican; Glenn Anderson, IndepÖ Republican; Mark Greene, DemocracyÖ Indep.; James Robert Deal, no party preference

Secretary of State: Kathleen Drew, Jim Kastama, Greg Nickels, Democrat; Kim Wyman, Republican; Karen Murray, Constitution Party; Sam Wright, Human Rights Party; David J. Anderston, no party preference

State Treasurer: Jim McIntire, Democrat

State Auditor: James Watkins, Republican; Troy Kelley, Craig Pridemore, Mark Miloscia, Democrat

Attorney General: Reagan Dunn, Stephen Pidgeon, Republican; Bob Ferguson, Democrat

Commissioner of Public Lands: Peter J. Goldmark, Democratic; Clint Didier, Republican; Stephen A. Sharon, no party preference

Superintendent of Public Instruction (nonpartisan office): James Bauckman, John Patterson Blair Randy I. Dorn, Don Hansler, Ronald L. (Ron) Higgins

Insurance Commissioner: Mike Kreidler, Democrat; John R. Adams, Scott Reilly, Republican, Brian C. Berend, Independent

Supreme Court

Position 2: Douglas W. McQuaid, Susan Owens , Scott Stafne

Position 8: Steve Gonzalez, Bruce O. Danielson

Position 9: Bruce Hilyer, John W. Ladenburg, Sheryl Gordon McCloud, Richard B. Sanders

Court of Appeals, Division 3, District 1: Laurel Siddoway

Legislative District 3

State Senate: Nancy McLaughlin, GOP; Andy Billig, Democrat

State Rep. Pos. 1: Bob Apple, Marcus Riccelli, Jon Snyder, Democrat; Morgan Oyler, Republican; Tim Benn, GOP

State Rep. Pos. 2: Timm Ormsby, Democrat; Dave White, Republican

Legislative District 4

State Senate: Mike Padden, Republican

State Rep. Pos. 1: Larry Crouse, Republican

State Rep. Pos. 2: Amy C. Biviano, Democrat; Matt Shea, Republican

Legislative District 6

State Rep. Pos. 1: Wayne Kyle Spitzer, Democrat; Kevin Parker, Republican

State Rep. Pos. 2: Jeff Holy, Ben Oakley, Larry Keller, Republican; Dennis Dellwo Democrat

Legislative District 7

State Rep. Pos. 1: Shelly Short, Republican

State Rep. Pos. 2: Joel Kretz, Robert (Bob) Wilson, Republican

Legislative District 9

State Senate: Mark G. Schoesler, GOP

State Rep. Pos. 1: Susan Fagan, Republican

State Rep. Pos. 2: Joe Schmick, Republican

Spokane County Commissioner District 1: Todd Mielke, Republican; John Roskelley, Democrat

Spokane County Commissioner District 2: Rob Chase, Shelly O’Quinn, Republican; Daryl Romeyn, Democrat

District Court Pos. 8: Randy A. Brandt

Spokane Superior Court

Position 1: Annette S. Plese

Position 2: James M. Triplet

Position 3: Tari Eitzen

Position 4: Kathleen M. O'Connor

Position 5: Michael P. Price

Position 6: Sam F. Cozza

Position 7: Maryann C. Moreno

Position 8: Harold D. Clarke III

Position 9: John O. Cooney

Position 10: Linda G. Tompkins

Position 11: Greg Sypolt

Position 12: Ellen Kalama Clark

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to Spin Control
Jim Camden
Jim Camden joined The Spokesman-Review in 1981. He is currently the political reporter and state government reporter in the newspaper's Olympia bureau office.

Follow Jim online: