Advertise Here


Bryant wins POY; Bouldin, Heytvelt on WCC first-team

For the first time since 1999, Gonzaga didn’t win at least one of the WCC’s four individual awards. WCC coaches vote on the awards, which were announced Monday afternoon.

Santa Clara senior center John Bryant was named player of the year, snapping Gonzaga’s streak of winning or sharing the award the last eight seasons. Portland’s Eric Reveno was voted coach of the year. Gonzaga’s Mark Few had won or shared the award seven of the last eight years.

Saint Mary’s forward Diamon Simpson was a repeat selection as defensive player of the year. Portland’s T.J. Campbell and Santa Clara’s Kevin Foster shared newcomer of the year.

Gonzaga’s Matt Bouldin and Josh Heytvelt were selected All-WCC first team. Bouldin made the first team in 2008. The rest of the first team included Bryant, Simpson, Portland’s Campbell and Nik Raivio, Saint Mary’s Omar Samhan and Patty Mills, San Diego’s Gyno Pomare and San Francisco’s Dior Lowhorn.

GU’s Austin Daye, Steven Gray and Jeremy Pargo, who was the player of the year in 2008, were honorable mention selections, along with Portland’s Jared Stohl and Robin Smeulders and SCU’s Foster.

The All-Freshman team included Foster and his Broncos’ teammates James Rahon and Marc Trasolini, Pepperdine’s Keion Bell and LMU’s Jarred DuBois.



Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

SportsLink is your portal into sports news around the Inland Northwest and beyond. You'll find updates, notes and opinions, and plenty of reader feedback.


Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on SportsLink.


Chris Derrick Chris Derrick is a sports reporter. His primary coverage areas are the Spokane Chiefs, Spokane Indians, women's basketball and high school softball and volleyball. He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Recent work by Chris

Sean Kramer Sean Kramer is a freelance correspondent who covers the University of Idaho football team and men's basketball team.

Recent work by Sean

Vince Grippi is the online producer for SportsLink, a product of The Spokesman-Review.

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here