Advertise Here


UI’s Hopson a WAC first-teamer

Well, one Idaho basketball coach picked up the award they deserved Sunday. And it wasn’t Don Verlin. Jon Newlee, the leader of the Vandal women, was named Coach of the Year. But Verlin, the first-year UI men’s coach lost out to Utah State boss Stew Morrill, his longtime mentor.

The good news for the Vandals: Point guard Mac Hopson was a first-team selection, joining Luke Babbitt and Armon Johnson from Nevada, USU’s Gary Wilkinson and New Mexico State’s Jahmar Young. You can read the Idaho release here and the WAC release here.

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Get blog updates by email

About this blog

SportsLink is your portal into sports news around the Inland Northwest and beyond. You'll find updates, notes and opinions, and plenty of reader feedback.


Latest comments »

Read all the posts from recent conversations on SportsLink.


Chris Derrick Chris Derrick is a sports reporter. His primary coverage areas are the Spokane Chiefs, Spokane Indians, women's basketball and high school softball and volleyball. He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Recent work by Chris

Sean Kramer Sean Kramer is a freelance correspondent who covers the University of Idaho football team and men's basketball team.

Recent work by Sean

Vince Grippi is the online producer for SportsLink, a product of The Spokesman-Review.

Search this blog
Subscribe to this blog
Advertise Here