TUESDAY, MARCH 24, 2009, 3:24 P.M.

WSU shows its smarts


A couple Pac-10 notes. The conference announced its all-academic men's basketball team and the next commissioner. And no, Condoleeza Rice was not mentioned in either release. Read on.

• If you want to know why Washington State didn't win the Pac-10 men's basketball title, just check out the all-academic first team. Four guys out of five attend WSU? C'mon, fellas. Too much time in the classroom and not enough in the gym. I'm just kidding, of course. Aron Baynes, Daven Harmeling, Nikola Koprivica and Taylor Rochestie were joined by ASU's Derek Glasser on the first team. Washington State also joins Stanford's 2004-05 team has the only one in conference history to have four first-team all-academic selections. Here is the WSU release.

• The conference announced Tuesday that Larry Scott would take over as Pac-10 commissioner when Tom Hansen retires July 1. Who? Scott is currently the CEO of the Women's Tennis Association, a position he's held since 2003. But he's never run a conference like the Pac-10 before. He did, however, play tennis at Harvard, so there's that.


• That's it for now. Until later …

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Vince Grippi
Vince Grippi is a freelance local sports blogger for He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Follow Vince online:

Looking for a Grip on Sports?

Vince Grippi's daily take on all things regional sports has been moved to our main sports section online. You can find a collection of these columns here.