SportsLink

WSU's preseason practice schedule

COUGARS • UPDATED 8 P.M.

If you are interested in attending any of Washington State University's preseason football practices in Pullman, bring sun screen, a good hat and a diet coke. That last item is for me. Just kidding. Anyhow, if you are thinking of heading to Pullman any time soon, you might want to check out the practice schedule on the link.

••••••••••

• Here is the practice schedule, with one quick caveat. I've been doing this for a while now, so I've come to understand these schedules are not chipped into stone. There may be changes as the practices wear on, and the players wear down. One thing Paul Wulff is darn good at is feeling the pulse of his team. If the players have been going hard, have accomplished a lot and need a break, or even a little more sleep, Wulff isn't afraid to pull the trigger and give them some time off. So, if you are making a trip to the Palouse, check here first. We try to warn of changes as soon as we hear of them – that being said, sometimes Wulff may surprise everyone at the end of a practice, telling the players they have the next day off, or at the least the next day will be lighter – so make sure you have checked in before heading out. Here's the schedule as it looks right now ...
•••
Date                                   Time                      
Sun., Aug. 7                       2:30 p.m.               Practice (Helmets only)
Mon., Aug. 8                     2:30 p.m.               Practice (Helmets only)
Tue., Aug. 9                       2:30 p.m.               Practice (Shoulder Pads and Helmets)
Wed., Aug. 10                   2:30 p.m.               Practice (Shoulder Pads and Helmets)
Thur., Aug. 11                   2:30 p.m.               Practice (Full Pads)
• Fri., Aug. 12                       8:30 a.m.               Practice 
                                            3:30 p.m.               Practice 
Sat., Aug. 13                      2:30 p.m.               Practice 
• Sun., Aug. 14                     8:30 a.m.               Practice 
                                            3:30 p.m.               Practice 
Mon., Aug. 15                                                   No practice
• Tue., Aug. 16                     8:30 a.m.               Practice 
                                            3:30 p.m.               Practice 
Wed., Aug. 17                   2:30 p.m.               Practice/Scrimmage
Thur., Aug. 18                   8:30 a.m.               Practice 
                                            3:30 p.m.               Practice 
Fri., Aug. 19                       2:30 p.m.               Practice 
Sat., Aug. 20                      8:30 a.m.               Practice 
                                            3:30 p.m.               Practice 
Sun., Aug. 21                     8:30 a.m.               Practice 
Mon., Aug. 22                                                   No practice – first day of School
Tue., Aug. 23                     3:45 p.m.               Practice 
Wed., Aug. 24                   3:45 p.m.               Practice 
Thur., Aug. 25                   7:30 p.m.               Scrimmage
Fri., Aug. 26                       3:45 p.m.               Practice 
Sat., Aug. 27                      9:30 a.m.               Practice 
Sun., Aug. 28                                                     No practice
Mon., Aug. 29                   8 p.m.                     Practice
Tue., Aug. 30                     3:45 p.m.               Practice 
Wed., Aug. 31                   3:45 p.m.               Practice 
Thur., Sept. 1                    3:45 p.m.               Practice
Fri., Sept. 2                        4 p.m.                     Walk through
Sat., Sept. 3                       2 p.m.                     Cougars vs. Idaho State
(Off days are in bold; two-a-days marked with •)
•••
• UPDATE: Just a short update to update the status of a couple football players. It looks as if incoming freshman Brock Lutes didn't make the grade and will be attending junior college. That's what Wulff relayed in an online chat earlier today. As for the other four freshmen who were on the bubble, nothing is certain just yet. WSU still needs one freshman to either enroll in the spring (grayshirt) or not make grades, as the Cougars still have one too many players in their incoming class. Nothing is decided concerning Brandon Rankin's eligibility, other than Wulff's insistence that he'll be OK. As for fellow defensive tackle Toni Pole, Wulff said Wednesday he had passed his summer classes and was good to go.
•••
• That's all for now. By the way, if you are in Pullman or will be nearby Friday (and you are a female), you might want to check out this link. The Cougar coaches are holding an informational seminar for women only starting at 5:30 p.m. There is more info on the link if you are interested. Until later ...



You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Vince Grippi
Vince Grippi is a freelance local sports blogger for spokesman.com. He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Follow Vince online:








Close

Sections


Profile

Close

Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
(800) 338-8801
Newsroom:
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801