EWU football champs honored

The 2010 Eastern Washington University football team received a big honor on the west side of the state Wednesday night.

The Eagles were named “Sports Story of the Year” for 2011 at the 77th Annual Sports Star of the Year awards show at Benaroya Hall in Seattle.

The event was hosted by the Seattle Sports Commission and presented by Root Sports™.

The winner of the 2010 NCAA Division I Football Championship  on Jan. 7, 2011 with a come-from-behind 20-19 win over Delaware, Eastern beat out four other finalists in fan voting for the award. Head football coach Beau Baldwin and athletic director Bill Chaves accepted the honor on behalf of EWU.

Other nominees included: the Seattle Seahawks win over the Saints in the NFL playoffs; the Sounders winning their third straight U.S. Open Cup; Hope Solo and Stephanie Cox leading the U.S, team to the World Cup final; and the University of Washington crew winning its third national title in the last five years.


You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Jim Allen
Sports reporter Jim Allen's primary coverage areas are Eastern Washington University football and men's basketball, women's basketball and college and high school soccer. He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Follow Jim online:




Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801