SportsLink

WCC schedule: GU home early, away late

Gonzaga will be home for its first four West Coast Conference men’s basketball games and on the road for its last four, including the regular-season finale against Saint Mary’s.

The defending champion Bulldogs entertain Santa Clara to open WCC play Saturday, Dec. 28, followed by San Francisco’s visit two days later. Saint Mary’s and WCC newcomer Pacific come to Spokane the following week. The first four games will take place with students on holiday break.

More below.

Also, tickets for the Maui Invitational go on sale Wednesday.

GU’s first road game is against Portland on Thursday, Jan. 9. The Bulldogs close the conference season at BYU (Feb. 20), San Diego (Feb. 22), Pacific (Feb. 27) and Saint Mary’s (March 1). Gonzaga finished 16-0 in conference last season, two games ahead of Saint Mary’s, and beat the Gaels 65-51 for the WCC Tournament championship.

The addition of Pacific extends the WCC season to 10 weeks and 18 games. The schedule is subject to change and the WCC will announce the television schedule in the next few weeks.

The WCC Tournament begins with the first round on Thursday, March 6, and concludes with the championship game on Tuesday, March 11.

Gonzaga hasn't released its non-conference schedule.

WCC schedule

Saturday, December 28
BYU at Loyola Marymount
San Diego at Pepperdine
Santa Clara at Gonzaga
San Francisco at Portland

Monday, December 30
BYU at Pepperdine
San Diego at Loyola Marymount
San Francisco at Gonzaga
Santa Clara at Portland
Saint Mary’s at Pacific

Thursday, January 2
Pacific at Portland
Saint Mary’s at Gonzaga
Loyola Marymount at San Francisco
Pepperdine at Santa Clara

Saturday, January 4
San Diego at BYU
Loyola Marymount at Santa Clara
Saint Mary’s at Portland
Pepperdine at San Francisco
Pacific at Gonzaga

Thursday, January 9
Pepperdine at BYU
Santa Clara at Saint Mary’s
San Francisco at Pacific
Gonzaga at Portland
Loyola Marymount at San Diego

Saturday, January 11
Pepperdine at San Diego
Loyola Marymount at BYU
Santa Clara at Pacific
San Francisco at Saint Mary’s

Thursday, January 16
Portland at Loyola Marymount
Gonzaga at Pepperdine
BYU at San Francisco
San Diego at Santa Clara

Saturday, January 18
Pacific at Saint Mary’s
Gonzaga at Loyola Marymount
Portland at Pepperdine
San Diego at San Francisco
BYU at Santa Clara

Thursday, January 23
BYU at Portland
San Diego at Gonzaga
Loyola Marymount at Pacific
Pepperdine at Saint Mary’s

Saturday, January 25
BYU at Gonzaga
San Diego at Portland
Loyola Marymount at Saint Mary’s
Pepperdine at Pacific
Santa Clara at San Francisco

Thursday, January 30
Portland at San Francisco
Gonzaga at Santa Clara
Saint Mary’s at San Diego
Pacific at BYU

Saturday, February 1
Saint Mary’s at BYU
Pacific at San Diego
Loyola Marymount at Pepperdine
Gonzaga at San Francisco
Portland at Santa Clara

Wednesday, February 5
Portland at Gonzaga

Thursday, February 6
Santa Clara at BYU
San Francisco at San Diego
Saint Mary’s at Loyola Marymount
Pacific at Pepperdine

Saturday, February 8
Pacific at Loyola Marymount
Saint Mary’s at Pepperdine
San Francisco at BYU
Santa Clara at San Diego

Thursday, February 13
BYU at Pacific
San Diego at Saint Mary’s
Loyola Marymount at Portland
Pepperdine at Gonzaga

Saturday, February 15
Loyola Marymount at Gonzaga
Pepperdine at Portland
San Francisco at Santa Clara
BYU at Saint Mary’s
San Diego at Pacific

Thursday, February 20
Pepperdine at Loyola Marymount
Portland at San Diego
Gonzaga at BYU
Pacific at Santa Clara
Saint Mary’s at San Francisco

Saturday, February 22
Pacific at San Francisco
Saint Mary’s at Santa Clara
Portland at BYU
Gonzaga at San Diego

Thursday, February 27
Gonzaga at Pacific
Portland at Saint Mary’s
San Francisco at Pepperdine
Santa Clara at Loyola Marymount

Saturday, March 1
Portland at Pacific
Gonzaga at Saint Mary’s
BYU at San Diego
Santa Clara at Pepperdine
San Francisco at Loyola Marymount

Thursday, March 6
West Coast Conference Basketball Championship First Round

Saturday, March 8
West Coast Conference Basketball Championship Quarterfinals

Monday, March 10
West Coast Conference Basketball Championship Semifinals

Tuesday, March 11
West Coast Conference Basketball Championship Final




You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus
« Back to SportsLink

Jim Meehan
Jim Meehan's coverage areas include Gonzaga University men's basketball, Spokane Shock football, golf and volleyball. He also contributes to the SportsLink Blog.

Follow Jim online:


















Close

Sections


Profile

Close

Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
(800) 338-8801
Newsroom:
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801