Local events

Authors Bruce Holbert and John Whalen

Reading, discussion and signing by two authors. “Lonesome Animals,” in the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, is a western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the west. Paperback release is May 14. Whalen will be reading from his poetry collections “Caliban” and “In Honor of the Spigot” as well as honoring us with a reading from his upcoming collection “Dumb, Beautiful Ministers.”