Arrow-right Camera

Election Center

Mary Dye

A candidate for Legislative District 9, State of Washington in the 2015 Washington Primary

Party: Republican

Age: 57

City: Pomeroy, WA

Education: Earned bachelor’s degree in plant science and crop management from the University of Idaho in 1983.

Political experience: Appointed to state House last year and won seat in special election in November; serves on the House Environment Committee, and Business and Financial Services Committee. Leader in the Save Our Dams organization to fight breaching Snake River hydroelectric dams.

Work experience: Has co-managed third-generation wheat farm since 1987. Served in Peace Corps in Thailand 1984-86 as an agricultural educator in Thailand.

Family: Married. Has children in their teens. 

Contact information

Election results

Candidate Votes Pct
Mary Dye (R) 7,258 47.86 %
Kenneth E. Caylor (D) 4,047 26.68 %
Richard Lathim (R) 3,861 25.46 %

Details & headlines >>


Richard Lathim


Related coverage

Town of Tekoa condemns proposed closure of John Wayne Trail stretch

Well, pilgrim, we’ve got ourselves a bit of trouble in this here town of Tekoa. A part of the John Wayne Trail might be closed and some folks hereabouts are pretty riled up. That may be how the cross-state trail’s namesake would describe a controversy in Tekoa, where local officials recently learned the state might abandon a section of the trail from the Columbia River to Malden. Tekoa Mayor John Jaeger said the plan came as a complete surprise and the City Council passed a resolution this week to send a message of “Whoa!” to a chief supporter of the closure, Rep. Joe Schmick.

9th Lege District: Lathim lead holds up in recount

OLYMPIA — The recount of the 9th Legislative District House race confirmed that former Franklin County Sheriff Richard Lathim will run against appointed Rep. Mary Dye in the general election.

Mary Dye named to fill 9th District House seat.

OLYMPIA — Mary Dye, longtime GOP activist from Garfield County, was chosen to fill open seat in Southeast Washington’s 9th District.