Amasa Campbell House
1897: Unlike his partner John Finch who came from an elite family, Amasa Campbell was a self-made man who had worked in various enterprises before becoming involved in mining in the Coeur d’Alenes. Cutter, who tried to make each house in Browne’s Addition distinctive, may have felt that the Tudor style with its roots in vernacular architecture expressed Campbell’s character better than a grand neoclassical design. With its steep roofs, dormer windows and half timbering, the house is asymmetrical and picturesque. It is one of many houses in which Cutter played variations on a Tudoresque theme. As was common in the residences of wealthy American in the Age of Elegance, the principal rooms represent different styles. While the reception room in the Louis XV is decorated in rose moiré silk and gilt, oak paneling in an Elizabethan manner covers the walls of the library. The Campbell house, as part of the Museum of Art and Culture, is open for tours. The museum staff has carried out detailed research on the history of the house and overseen restoration over a period of many years. Docents are able to tell the visitors about the life that took place within the house and explain it many advanced features.
Directions to the next stop: Reid House
69 ft away
Head west on W 1st Ave toward S Poplar St