The Spokesman-Review

Opinion


SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

Have love in your heart

In the early 1930s, when I was a young child in the sparsely populated Dishman Hills, our closest neighbor was a black family who lived about three-fourths of a mile away. Their name was Brown and they owned a nightclub called the Pirate's Den. They later renamed it Club Harlem. It was on a bluff overlooking old Sprague Avenue.

Continue reading »





SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

No similarity between Hussein, Obama

Michael Ramirez may have thought he was clever with his Nov. 15 cartoon in The Spokesman-Review, comparing the take-down of Saddam Hussein to that of Obama's legacy. I was personally offended. There is not a shred of similarity between these two men except for being in power. Barack and Michelle Obama have served this country for eight years with great honor and integrity, and no personal scandals. No one can take that legacy away from them.

Continue reading »



SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

Respect differences

Last Friday, my 22-year-old daughter was working at a fast food restaurant in the Gonzaga district when a customer said to her "I'm glad Trump is president; now dykes like you have to keep your legs closed." While his words were confused, his message of intolerance was crystal clear.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

Support needle exchange program

Political changes following an election have obvious impacts on policies and programs. As members of the Spokane medical community and the torch bearers of health care's future, we want to express our support for continuing the Needle Exchange Program through these uncertain political times.

Continue reading »


SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

Trump backers sent clear message

To the Trump supporters, congratulations. You just sent a very clear message to your children and grandchildren – that's it's OK to be a racist, a bully, a sexist, a bigot; it's OK to mock the handicapped, to call an entire race derogatory names, to demean others' religion, to threaten anyone who disagrees with you, to call your opponents insulting names.

Continue reading »




SUNDAY, NOV. 20, 2016

What will Trump do to repair damage?

Donald Trump gained a backdoor victory, not by winning the popular vote, but rather by the Electoral College. Speaker Paul Ryan wrongly asserted that Trump had been given a mandate by the voters. It now remains to be seen who Trump is and what he will bring to the presidency.

Continue reading »

SATURDAY, NOV. 19, 2016

SATURDAY, NOV. 19, 2016

Check out iCivic website

In regard to the article on basic knowledge of our governmental structure, let me add that retired Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor has created an attractive and user-friendly online website designed to teach civics called "iCivic." There are games, lesson plans for classroom teachers and boatloads of information available for use both in school and at home.

Continue reading »



SATURDAY, NOV. 19, 2016

Clinton should be pardoned

Revenge may be a sweet thing but in this case it's neither practical or pragmatic. Any attempt to give "justice" to Hillary Clinton for her "transgressions" is doomed to failure.

Continue reading »




Blogs


Weekend Wild Card — 12/10-11/16

We keep heading toward one of my favorite days of the winter, Dec. 21, the Winter Solstice. It's the longest night of the year and the shortest day of the ...







Sections


Profile

Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
Newsroom:
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029