Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


SATURDAY, SEPT. 30, 2017

Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Football, anthem disconnected

I have visited Fort McHenry in Baltimore, which inspired the national anthem during a naval bombardment by the British in The War of 1812. The national anthem is sung at the end of a short film and the flag is displayed. You won't see a dry eye in the room.

Continue reading »



Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Guest Opinion: Nick Gier: Sanctuaries have a sacred history

The people of the ancient Middle East practiced radical hospitality, and the Israelites were no exception: “When a stranger sojourns in your land, you shall not do him wrong. The stranger who sojourns with you shall be to you as the native among you, and you shall love him as yourself” (Leviticus 19:33-34). The medieval church offered asylum to all those who sought it, as long as criminals confessed their sins. They were given 40 days to decide whether to stand trial or go into permanent exile. Today churches are bringing back this Judeo-Christian tradition, and about 800 of them are now offering refuge to those who need protection.

Continue reading »



Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Little hope for diocese

The pictures on Monday's front page in the article about Cardinal Cupich capture two aspects of the Spokane diocese very well. The picture of Cardinal Cupich incensing the altar reminds us of a moderate, pragmatic member of the church hierarchy. The picture of the altar servers (the term "altar boys" went out of use more than 50 years ago) and seminarians shows how the diocese has changed since Cupich left. The cassock and surplice on all-male servers signals a regression toward the sexism and clericalism of the pre-Vatican II church. It leaves me with little hope for the Diocese of Spokane in the immediate future.

Continue reading »


Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

No more NFL gear

I have been an NFL fan my entire life and a Seahawks fan since its inception. I now have room in my closet and man cave because I no longer will wear or display NFL gear or products. Like or dislike President Trump, he did not start this. This was started by Colin Kaepernick, and the majority of patriotic Americans agree with President Trump.

Continue reading »


Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Not my football!

That's it! I have had it with this so-called president. Actually, I've had it since Jan. 20th. With all his inappropriate behavior, speech and tweets, I've had it.

Continue reading »



Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Remove politics from issue

East Central Community Center and Martin Luther King Jr. Family Outreach provide essential services to the community. Both are established organizations holding the trust and faith in those that they serve. After reading the Sept. 21 article, it seems the people who will be the real losers from their conflict, are those that they serve.

Continue reading »


Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Stop Freeman headlines

Just wondering if you are trying to encourage another school shooting in our area by headlining for days on end about Freeman. I know that it was a tragedy but enough is enough. Stop the headlines please. You are just encouraging other kids to do the same.

Continue reading »


Sat., Sept. 30, 2017

Vet supports right of protest

Those who disparage the protesters are the ones who dishonor our American flag, our national anthem and the American ideal. The right to protest injustice is fundamental to our American fabric. To attack those who do is un-American.

Continue reading »

FRIDAY, SEPT. 29, 2017


Fri., Sept. 29, 2017

ECCC smell test

The Sept. 21 article "East Central Community Center contract review sparks controversy" missed a few details that, as a participant in the process, I saw first-hand.

Continue reading »






Blogs




Europe Tour 2017: Chapter 15

A three-month travel adventure that took me to 15 countries and nearly 30 cities ended safely Tuesday night at Spokane International Airport. I've had a wonderful summer, but I am ...