Arrow-right Camera

Opinion


SUNDAY, APRIL 2, 2017

Sun., April 2, 2017, midnight

Wolves' re-entry not worth it

During my time as a young child, starting around the age of 6, I always had a passion for the outdoors, whether it was hunting, fishing or being in the woods. Growing up as an avid outdoorsman has taught me to truly appreciate wildlife and the activities that involve them. A topic that has been controversial for nearly the past 50 years is the reintroduction of wolves back into the Lower 48, more importantly, the West, and what they have done to those who surround them.

Continue reading »

SATURDAY, APRIL 1, 2017


Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Arts worth 46 cents per year

The Trump administration is threatening to defund the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), which is 0.012 percent (about one one-hundredth of one percent) of the federal budget. The arts are just as important to our cultural heritage as our national parks. They need to be protected, promoted and preserved for all to enjoy not available only to the wealthy. The NEA has supported arts programs in each congressional district in the country. Also the arts bring tourism to communities, create jobs and promote our culture to the rest of the world but most of all improve our quality of life.

Continue reading »



Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Freedom of speech limited

"If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter," said George Washington. Students are having their right to free speech limited by the country that they love. They are having them limited in all aspects of their life, even by the college that they pay thousands of dollars to each year. This is something that is wrong, and needs to be addressed so these students don't feel that their opinions are worthless and have no place. Students thinking as though their ideas do not matter is an injustice, one that our founders fought for.

Continue reading »





Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Penny wise, pound foolish

Thanks to The Spokesman-Review for publishing the March 18 guest editorial, "Societal costs of cutting NEA, NEH outstrip savings," by Elisabeth Mermann-Jozwiak and Ginger Ewing. They are right to criticize the Trump administration for its benighted decision to slash funding for the National Endowment for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Humanities - and also, I would add, for public broadcasting.

Continue reading »


Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Support Planned Parenthood

I am writing to thank Mr. Kirlin for his March 14 letter. He has made it very clear about his views on women's rights. He feels that abortion is not a choice. I disagree. It has been decided in the Supreme Court that it is a woman's right to choose. I respect that Mr. Kirlin thinks it's a crime, and I suggest that if he ever is pregnant to definitely not choose abortion.

Continue reading »


Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Trump budget dangerous

President Trump's proposed budget is dangerous. It would gut public programs like Pell grants (for low-income college students) and AmeriCorps. In addition, it would eliminate funding for the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Continue reading »


Sat., April 1, 2017, midnight

Trump should be impeached

Who said money can't buy everything, speaking of Donald Trump. He bought the White House, the Senate, the House, Committee; now he wants to buy the great wall on the border, which no doubt taxpayers will end up paying for. (Mexico said no).

Continue reading »


FRIDAY, MARCH 31, 2017





Blogs

PM Scanner Traffic — 4.28.17

1:24 p.m. Back Pain -- Beehive Homes, 2100 E Sherman Ave/CdA. 1:20 p.m. Fire Drill -- Ramsey Elementary/Ramsey Road & Kathleen Ave, CdA. 1:13 p.m. Non-Injury Crash -- Rear-end crash ...




Heart-breaking stories

TAPACHULA, Mexico - The four Washington State University students on an international reporting trip gathered stories Thursday that left them in tears. The students - Estreyita Rosales, Nicole Clements, Kelsey ...